Woody Allen, Coen Brothers Among Screenwriters Choice Nominees

They’re joined by Spike Jonze, Bob Nelson and Alfonso and Jonas Cuaron in original screenplay category

Last Updated: July 10, 2014 @ 7:42 PM

Woody Allen and Joel and Ethan Coen are among the nominees in the original screenplay category of the Screenwriters Choice Awards announced Thursday.

They were named for “Blue Jasmine” and “Inside Llewyn Davis” respectively, and are joined by Alfonso and Jonas Cuaron (“Gravity”), Bob Nelson (“Nebraska”) and Spike Jonze (“Her”).

The winners will be honored at the ninth Final Draft Awards to be held Jan. 7, at the Paramount Theater on the Paramount Studios lot, after online voting by Final Draft users. Writer-director and producer Nancy Meyers was announced as this year’s inductee into the group’s hall of fame and will be honored at the event.

The nominees for best adapted screenplay are John Ridley (“12 Years a Slave), Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke (“Before Midnight”), Billy Ray (“Captain Phillips”), Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope (“Philomena”) and Terrence Winter (“The Wolf of Wall Street”).

Also read: As Critics’ Awards Keep Coming, It’s Turning Into a ’12 Years a Slave’ Runaway

On the TV side, the comedy nominees are Mitchell Hurwitz (“Arrested Development”), Lena Dunham (“Girls”), Steven Levitan and Christopher Lloyd (“Modern Family”), Greg Daniels and Michael Schur (“Parks and Recreation”) and Armando Iannucci (“Veep”).

The drama nominees are Vince Gilligan (“Breaking Bad”), Julian Fellowes (“Downton Abbey”), David Benioff and D.B. Weiss (“Game of Thrones”) and Matthew Weiner (“Mad Men”).

This year’s awards nominating committee includes Ted Griffin, Simon Kinberg, Larry Karasyewski, John Francis Daley, Jonathan Goldstein, Stan Chervin, Brian Duffield, Dustin Lance Black, Amy Berg, Kirsten Smith, and David Wain.

Also read: Nancy Meyers to Receive Hall of Fame Honor from Final Draft

Meyers joins previous Hall of Fame honorees Aaron Sorkin, Steve Zaillian, Oliver Stone, and Lawrence Kasdan, among others.

This year’s awards show will be hosted by Jay Chandrasekhar.


The news
you need now,
more than ever.

Create a FREE Account
Try PRO today