We've Got Hollywood Covered

Film Independent Spirit Awards Gives Out $75k in Filmmaker Grants

The unrestricted prizes were handed out to Chris Ohlson, Dan Krauss , Rania Attich and Daniel Garci

Actors Emmy Rossum and Michael Pena joined Film Independent president Josh Welsh on Saturday to announce the winners of the 2015 Spirit Awards Grants, which honors emerging filmmakers with $25,000 in unrestricted funds.

The grants were handed out at the organization’s annual Spirit Awards nominees brunch, held  at West Hollywood’s Boa Steakhouse, and saw Chris Ohlson, Dan Krauss and Rania Attich and Daniel Garcia take top spots.

“At Film Independent our mission is to support independent filmmakers all year long, helping them to get their films made and to build the audience for their work,” Welsh said.

“One of the most direct ways to do that is through the cash grants. Since 1995, Film Independent has given away $1,250,000 in cash grants at the Spirit Awards. This year’s recipients are terrifically talented, and I look forward to seeing their work for years to come.”

The complete grant winners:

Piaget Producers Award
Chad Burris
Elisabeth Hold
Chris Ohlson *WINNER 

Lenscrafters Truer Than Fiction Award
Sara Dosa director of “The Last Season”
Dan Krauss director of “The Kill Team” *WINNER
Darius Clark Monroe director of “Evolution of a Criminal”
Amanda Rose Wilder director of “Approaching the Elephant”

Kiehl’s Someone To Watch Awards
Ana Lily Amirpour director of “A Girl Walks Home at Night”
Rania Attieh & Daniel Garcia directors of “H” *WINNER
Chris Eska director of “The Retrieval”

Previous Spirit Award include Marc Forster, Errol Morris, Jeff Malmberg, Karin Chien, Mike Ott, Ross Kauffman and Zana Briski. The Indepdent Spirit Awards will air February 21 on IFC. Read the complete list of Independent Spirit Award Nominees.


Please fill out this field.