We've Got Hollywood Covered

GLAAD Media Awards Winners: Jennifer Lopez, Laverne Cox and Norman Lear Honored (Video)

”Days of Our Lives,“ ”Behind the Candelabra,“ ”The Fosters“ and ”Bridegroom“ were also among Saturday’s award recipients

E! personality Ross Mathews hosted the first of two ceremonies for the 25th Annual GLAAD Media Awards, which took place on Saturday at the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles.

GLAAD national spokesman Wilson Cruz awarded television writer and producer Norman Lear with the Pioneer Award. Lear produced iconic sitcoms “All in the Family,” “Sanford and Son,” “One Day at a Time,” “The Jeffersons,” “Good Times,” and “Maude.”

His activist work includes the founding of advocacy organization People For the American Way, and the championing of First Amendment rights and progressive causes.

Also read: ‘Bachelor’ Juan Pablo Galavis-GLAAD Release New Apology for Anti-Gay Statements

Additionally, Rita Moreno presented Jennifer Lopez with the Vanguard Award for the work she’s done in helping to shed light on the fight for LGBT people and equality, including her work as executive producer on ABC Family’s “The Fosters,” which portrays a blended family with lesbian parents.

Watch Lopez’s speech above.

“Orange Is the New Black” star Laverne Cox received the Stephen F. Kolzak Award, which celebrates openly LGBT media professionals who have made a significant difference in promoting equality. Recently out actress Ellen Page  presented Cox with the award.

Watch the presentation below.

See photos: 11 Transgender Stars Weigh In on Trans Images in Entertainment

‘Days of Our Lives,’ ‘Behind the Candelabra,’ ‘The Fosters’ and “Bridegroom” were also among Saturday’s award recipients.

More awards will be handed out at the second GLAAD Media Awards ceremony to be held in New York City on Saturday, May 3.

See below for a complete list of awards presented on Saturday:

Outstanding Documentary: TIE: Bridegroom (Virgil Films / OWN) [accepted by: Shane Bitney Crone and Linda Bloodworth-Thomason] and Call Me Kuchu (Cinedigm) [accepted by: co-directors Katherine Fairfax Wright, Malika Zouhali-Worrall, and Ugandan activist John “Longjones” Abdallah Wambere]

Outstanding Drama Series: The Fosters (ABC Family) [accepted by: co-creators Peter Paige and Bradley Bredeweg with stars Sherri Saum and Teri Polo]

Outstanding TV Movie or Mini-Series: Behind the Candelabra (HBO)

Outstanding Reality Program: Big Freedia: Queen of Bounce (Fuse)

Outstanding Daily Drama: Days of Our Lives (NBC)

Outstanding Newspaper Article: “LGBTQ in the Capital” (series) by Melissa Griffiths (Juneau Empire [Juneau, Alaska])

Outstanding Digital Journalism – Multimedia: “We Are Here: LGBTI in Uganda” by Sunnivie Brydum, D. David Robinson (Advocate.com)

Outstanding Music Artist: Tegan and Sara, Heartthrob (Warner Bros. Records)

Outstanding Comic Book: Young Avengers, written by Kieron Gillen (Marvel Comics)

Outstanding Talk Show Interview: TIE: “Debate por la igualdad” Al Punto (Univision) and “Decisión Histórica” Sin Límites con Elizabeth Espinosa (CNN Latino)

Outstanding Local TV Journalism: “Natalia: rompiendo barreras” Noticiero Telemundo Arizona (KTAZ-39 [Phoenix, Ariz.])

Outstanding TV Journalism Segment: “Decisión Histórica” Noticiero Telemundo (Telemundo)

Outstanding Digital Journalism – Multimedia: “Eric y Juan, un matrimonio feliz a pesar de todo” by Fernando Mexia (EFE.com)