John Oliver, ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’ Nominated for Environmental Media Awards

“Interstellar” and “The Newsroom” also score nominations for annual green-conscious event

2015 Summer TCA Tour - 31st Annual Television Critics Association Awards
Getty Images

Take a bow, John Oliver and “Mad Max: Fury Road” — you’re doing your part for the environment.

HBO funnyman Oliver and “Fury Road” are among the nominees for this year’s Environmental Media Awards, which honor “exemplary film and television productions, individuals and content that increase public awareness of environmental issues and inspire green conscious responsibility.”

The Matthew McConaughey film “Interstellar” and the NBC drama “The Blacklist” are also among this year’s nominees.

The awards, which are held by the Environmental Media Association and mark their 25th anniversary this year, will take place this year October 24 at the Warner Brothers Studios in Burbank.

“Over the past 25 years of this award show, it never ceases to amaze us of all the great work that has been done to further highlight the achievements of those who lead by example through environmentally conscious programming, filmmaking and production,” said Debbie Levin, President of the EMA. “We are thrilled to recognize such socially active, mindful and inspirational individuals, organizations and programming this year.”

Read on for the full list of nominees.

Feature Film

“Interstellar” (Paramount)

Christopher Nolan: Director, Writer, Producer; Jonathan Nolan: Writer; Lynda Obst: Producer; Emma Thomas: Producer

“Mad Max: Fury Road” (Warner Bros.)

George Miller: Director, Writer, Producer; Brendan McCarthy: Writer; Nick Lathouris: Writer; Doug Mitchell: Producer; P.J. Voeten: Producer

“Disneynature Monkey Kingdom” (Disney)

Mark Linfield: Producer, Writer, Director; Alastair Fothergill: Producer, Co-Director; Kristina Reed: Producer

Documentary Film

“Gardeners of Eden”

Kristin Davis: Executive Producer; Jeff Skoll: Executive Producer; Bryn Mooser: Producer; Austin Peck: Producer, Director; Molly Swenson: Producer; Anneliese Vandenberg: Producer, Director

“Slingshot” (White Dwarf Productions)

Paul Lazarus: Director, Producer; Evan Williams: Executive Producer; Sara Williams: Executive Producer; Eric Aroesty: Executive Producer; Ronald Aroesty: Executive Producer; Lewis Katz: Executive Producer; Catherine Adler: Executive Producer; Frederick R. Adler: Executive Producer

“The True Cost” (Untold LA)

Andrew Morgan: Director, Executive Producer; Livia Firth: Executive Producer; Michael Ross: Producer; Lucy Siegle: Executive Producer; Vincent Vittorio: Executive Producer; Christopher L. Harvey: Executive Producer; Julie Morgan: Executive Producer

“Virunga” (Netflix)

Orlando von Einsiedel: Director, Producer; Leonardo Di Caprio: Executive Producer; Jon Drever: Executive Producer; Maxyne Franklin: Executive Producer; Jess Search: Executive Producer; Adam Del Deo: Executive Producer; Lisa Nishimura: Executive Producer; Howard G. Buffett: Executive Producer

Television Episodic Drama

“The Newsroom” (HBO)

Aaron Sorkin: Executive Producer, Writer; Alan Poul: Executive Producer; Scott Rudin: Executive Producer; Denis Biggs: Executive Producer; Paul Lieberstein: Executive Producer; Anthony Hemingway: Co-Executive Producer; Jon Lovett: Producer, Writer

“The Blacklist”: (Sony-NBC)

Jon Bokenkamp: Executive Producer; John Eisendrath: Executive Producer; Jonathan Filley: Co- Executive Producer; David Platt: Director

Television Episodic Comedy

“Bob’s Burgers”: Late Afternoon in the Garden of Bob and Louise (Fox)

Boo Hwan Lim: Director; Kyoung Hee Lim: Director; Jon Schroeder: Writer; Loren Bouchard: Executive Producer; Jim Dauterive: Executive Producer; Jon Schroeder: Co-Executive Producer

“Cristela”: Last Goose Standing (ABC)

Ted Wass: Director; D.J. Ryan: Writer; Aaron Serna: Writer; Cristela Alonzo: Executive Producer; Karen Kirchner: Co-Producer

“The Simpsons”: Opposites-A-Frack (Fox)

Al Jean: Executive Producer; James L. Brooks: Executive Producer; Matt Groening: Executive Producer; Sam Simon: Executive Producer; Matt Selman: Executive Producer; John Frink: Executive Producer; Kevin Curran: Co-Executive Producer; J. Stewart Burns: Co-Executive Producer; Michael Price: Co-Executive Producer; Bill Odenkirk: Co-Executive Producer; Marc Wilmore: Co-Executive Producer; Joel H. Cohen: Co-Executive Producer; Rob Lazebnik: Co-Executive Producer; Jeff Westbrook: Co-Executive Producer; Brian Kelley: Co-Executive Producer

Reality Television

“Biggest and Baddest”: Man-Eating Tiger (NatGeo)


Peter von Puttkamer: Director, Writer, Producer

Sandy Black: Producer

“Last Week Tonight with John Oliver“: Season 2 Episode 10 (HBO)


John Oliver: Executive Producer

Tim Carvell: Executive Producer

Jon Thoday: Executive Producer

James Taylor: Executive Producer

Liz Stanton: Co- Executive Producer

Diane Fitzgerald: Producer

“Vice”: Our Rising Oceans (HBO)


Bill Maher: Executive Producer

Shane Smith: Executive Producer

Eddy Moretti: Executive Producer

BJ Levin: Executive Producer

Jonah Kaplin: Co- Executive Producer

Tim Clancy: Supervising Producer

Erik Osterholm: Producer

Alex Braverman: Producer

Mandana Mofidi: Additional Producer

David Laven: Additional Producer

Abazar Khayami: Additional Producer

Children’s Television

“Clangers”: Space Tangle (Sprout-NBCUni)


Zoe Bamsey: Executive Producer

Daniel Postgate: Executive Producer

Dan Maddicott: Supervising Producer

Phil Chalk: Producer

Dave Ingham: Writer

Mole Hill: Director

Chris Tichborne: Director

“Dora and Friends in the City”: Magical Mermaid Adventure (Nickelodeon)


Jorge Aguirre: Writer

Chris Gifford: Executive Producer

Valerie Walsh Valdes: Executive Producer

Henry Lenardin-Madden: Supervising Producer

Miken Wong: Supervising Producer

Marc Amiel: Producer

“Miles From Tomorrowland”: Junked (Disney)


John Eng: Director

Kelly James: Director

Sascha Paladino: Executive Producer

Richard Marlis: Executive Producer

Carmen Italia: Executive Producer

Participant Media Presents Best Digital Short

“The Soil Story” (Kiss The Ground)


Louis Fox – Director

Calla Ostrander – Co-writer & Producer

“Dear Future Generations: Sorry”


Richard Williams (Prince EA) – Executive Producer

“Climate Change Denial Disorder” (Funny or Die)


Brianne Trosie – Producer