‘Lego Movie’ Sequel Lands ‘Community’ Director Rob Schrab

Phil Lord and Chris Miller are returning to write and produce alongside Roy Lee and Dan Lin

“Community” director Rob Schrab will make his feature directorial debut on “The LEGO Movie Sequel,” it was announced Tuesday by Warner Bros. executive Greg Silverman.

Phil Lord and Christopher Miller, who wrote and directed “The LEGO Movie,” are writing the new feature based on a story by Lord, Miller, Jared Stern and Michelle Morgan.  In addition, Lord and Miller will serve as producers alongside Dan Lin and Roy Lee.

“’The LEGO Movie’ captivated critics and audiences on a global scale with its irresistible blend of humor, imagination and fun.  Warner Bros. is excited to build our relationship with The LEGO Group with this new adventure, and we join them in welcoming the multi-talented Rob Schrab to the LEGO family as he takes the helm of ‘The LEGO Movie Sequel,” said Silverman.

“We are so excited to collaborate with Rob. He is a comedy genius, a visual savant, and we have been stalking him for years. No one works harder than Rob, and his aesthetic, combined with his sense of humor, bring a strong, unique, thoughtful, and passionately nerdy voice to this project. People who know him are slapping their foreheads today and saying, ‘Of course!,” Lord and Miller said in a joint statement.

Schrab has recently directed episodes of such hit series as “Community,” “The Mindy Project” and “Parks and Recreation.” He also wrote, directed and executive produced “The Sarah Silverman Program,” for which he gained a WGA Award nomination.  He previously earned a 2007 Annie Award nomination for Best Writing in an Animated Feature Production for the Oscar-nominated comedy “Monster House.” In addition, he won an Emmy for his work on the 81st annual Academy Awards.

“The LEGO Movie Sequel” is another piece of WB’s growing LEGO film franchise, which also includes the upcoming “Ninjago,” slated for a Sept. 23, 2016, release, and an as-yet-untitled Batman LEGO feature, due out in May 2017.