NAACP Image Awards 2018: The Complete Winners List

The 49th NAACP Image Awards were hosted by Anthony Anderson

Getty Images

Filmmaker Ava DuVernay won Entertainer of the Year at the 49th NAACP Image Awards ceremony Monday night, which was hosted by “Black-ish” star Anthony Anderson at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium.

“Girls Trip” took home Outstanding Motion Picture, the lone comedy in a group crowded with dramas.

“Black-ish” won big, taking home three awards. It won Outstanding Comedy Series, up against “Insecure,” “Ballers,” “Dear White People,” and “Survivor’s Remorse.” Tracee Ellis Ross and host Anderson won Outstanding Actor and Actress in a Comedy Series for their starring roles on the ABC sitcom.

Taraji P. Henson and Omari Hardwick snagged the awards for Outstanding Actress and Actor in a Drama series for their starring roles on “Empire” and “Power.” Octavia Spencer and Daniel Kaluuya took home Outstanding Actress and Actor in a Motion Picture for their roles in “Gifted” and “Get Out.”

Martin Luther King Jr. was mentioned throughout the ceremony — it’s the first time the award show has landed on MLK day — and NAACP President and CEO Derrick Johnson said “there’s no better way to honor the legacy” of the reverend than to urge everyone to vote in 2018, and Danny Glover spoke of King’s impact in his acceptance speech for the NAACP President’s Award.

Forty-seven other Image Awards were handed out Sunday night during a non-televised gala dinner, including Outstanding New Artist for singer SZA, and writing and directing wins for “Get Out” director Jordan Peele. Idris Elba, Bruno Mars, Tiffany Haddish and Kendrick Lamar are among the night’s other big winners. For the complete list of winners from Sunday night’s non-televised portion of the awards ceremony, head over here.

See below for the full list of Monday’s winners.

Outstanding Actress in a Motion Picture
Amandla Stenberg – “Everything, Everything” (Warner Bros. Pictures / Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Pictures)
Danai Gurira – “All Eyez on Me” (Summit Entertainment)
Halle Berry – “Kidnap” (Aviron Pictures)
Natalie Paul – “Crown Heights” (Amazon Studios)
Octavia Spencer – “Gifted” (Fox Searchlight Pictures) *WINNER

Outstanding Actor in a Comedy Series
Anthony Anderson – “black-ish” (ABC) *WINNER

Aziz Ansari – “Master of None” (Netflix)
Dwayne Johnson – “Ballers” (HBO)
Keegan-Michael Key – “Friends from College” (Netflix)
RonReaco Lee – “Survivor’s Remorse” (Starz)

Outstanding Actress in a Drama Series
Jurnee Smollett-Bell – “Underground” (WGN America)
Kerry Washington – “Scandal” (ABC)
Rutina Wesley – “Queen Sugar” (OWN)
Taraji P. Henson – “Empire” (FOX)*WINNER
Viola Davis – “How to Get Away with Murder” (ABC)

Outstanding Actress in a Comedy Series
Danielle Brooks – “Orange is the New Black” (Netflix)
Issa Rae – “Insecure” (HBO)
Loretta Devine – “The Carmichael Show” (NBC)
Niecy Nash – “Claws” (TNT)
Tracee Ellis Ross – “black-ish ” (ABC)*WINNER

Outstanding Actor in a Drama Series
Kofi Siriboe – “Queen Sugar” (OWN)
Mike Colter – “Marvel’s The Defenders” (Netflix)
Omari Hardwick – “Power” (Starz)*WINNER
Sterling K. Brown – “This Is Us ” (NBC)
Terrence Howard – “Empire” (FOX)

NAACP Music Makes A Difference Honor

Charlie Wilson

Outstanding Comedy Series
“Ballers” (HBO)
“Black-ish” (ABC)*WINNER
“Dear White People” (Netflix)
“Insecure” (HBO)
“Survivor’s Remorse” (Starz)

NAACP Chairman’s Award

William Lucy

NAACP President’s Award

Danny Glover

Outstanding Drama Series
“Greenleaf” (OWN)
“Power” (Starz)*WINNER
“Queen Sugar” (OWN)
“This Is Us” (NBC)
“Underground” (WGN America)

Outstanding Actor in a Motion Picture
Algee Smith – “Detroit” (Annapurna Pictures)
Chadwick Boseman – “Marshall” (Open Road Films)
Daniel Kaluuya – “Get Out” (Universal Pictures)
Denzel Washington – “Roman J. Israel, Esq.” (Columbia Pictures)
Idris Elba – “The Mountain Between Us” (20th Century Fox)

Outstanding Motion Picture
“Detroit” (Annapurna Pictures)
“Get Out” (Universal Pictures)
“Girls Trip” (Universal Pictures)*WINNER
“Marshall” (Open Road Films)
“Roman J. Israel, Esq.” (Sony Pictures Entertainment)

Entertainer of the Year
Ava DuVernay*WINNER
Bruno Mars
Chadwick Boseman
Chance the Rapper
Issa Rae