‘Prison Break’ Revival Locks Up Returns of Rockmond Dunbar, Robert Knepper

Amaury Nolasco will also reprise role from Fox drama

Robert Knepper, Rockmond Dunbar and Amaury Nolasco will reprise their roles in the Fox event series revival of “Prison Break,” TheWrap has learned.

Knepper (Theodore “T-Bag” Bagwell), Dunbar (Benjamin Miles “C-Note” Franklin) and Nolasco (Fernando Sucre) join previously announced cast members Wentworth Miller, Dominic Purcell and Sarah Wayne Callies, who reprise their roles as brothers Michael Scofield, Lincoln Burrows and Dr. Sara Tancredi, respectively.

In the drama’s new chapter, when clues surface that suggest a previously thought-to-be-dead Michael may be alive, Lincoln and Sara reunite to engineer the series’ biggest escape ever, as three of Fox River State Penitentiary’s most notorious escapees, T-Bag, C-Note and Sucre, are pulled back into the action.

The original series was an immediate critical and ratings hit when it premiered in the fall of 2005. The new event series will reunite the original producing team, including series creator Paul T. Scheuring, Neal Moritz, Marty Adelstein and Dawn Olmstead, who return to executive produce, with Scheuring serving as showrunner and writer.

The original “Prison Break” centered on a young man (Miller) determined to prove his convicted brother’s (Purcell) innocence and save him from death row by hatching an elaborate plan to escape from prison.

A breakout success in its premiere season — garnering Golden Globe Award nominations for Best Television Series – Drama and Best Performance by an Actor in a Television Series – Drama (Miller) and winning the People’s Choice Award for Favorite New TV Drama — “Prison Break” ran for four seasons, ending its run in May 2009.

The series will be produced 20th Century Fox Television. Vaun Wilmott, Michael Horowitz and Nelson McCormick will also serve as executive producers. McCormick will serve as director.