‘Ray Donovan,’ ‘Masters of Sex’ Renewed by Showtime

Pickups will give each show a fourth season

Last Updated: August 11, 2015 @ 11:11 AM

Showtime has renewed “Ray Donovan” and “Masters of Sex” each for a respective fourth season that will air in 2016.

The renewals were announced Tuesday by Showtime chief David Nevins at the Television Critics Association summer press tour.

“Ray Donovan” stars Liev Schreiber, with Paula Malcomson, Eddie Marsan, Dash Mihok, Steven Bauer, Katherine Moennig, Pooch Hall, Kerris Dorsey and Devon Bagby. Season 3 added Katie Holmes and Ian McShane to the cast.

The series was created for Showtime by Ann Biderman, with David Hollander serving as showrunner for Season 3. It is executive produced by Mark Gordon, Bryan Zuriff and Hollander. Schreiber received an Emmy nomination for his work on the series last month.

“Masters of Sex” stars Michael Sheen and Lizzy Caplan as famed sex researchers William Masters and Virginia Johnson.

Based on Thomas Maier’s book “Masters of Sex: The Life and Times of William Masters and Virginia Johnson, The Couple Who Taught America How To Love,” the series was developed for Sony Pictures Television by Michelle Ashford, who also executive produces. Sarah Timberman, Carl Beverly, Amy Lippman, Dave Flebotte and Judith Verno also serve as executive producers. Sheen, Tammy Rosen and Thomas Maier serve as producers.

The third seasons of “Ray Donovan” and “Masters of Sex” premiered last month. They air back-to-back on Sundays at 9 p.m. and 10 p.m., respectively.