We've Got Hollywood Covered

Renée Zellweger to Receive Santa Barbara Film Festival American Riviera Award

Previous honorees include Quentin Tarantino, Rachel McAdams and Forrest Whitaker

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival is awarding Renée Zellweger the American Riviera Award on January 16, 2020, festival organizers announced Tuesday.

Zellweger is being recognized for her work in the film industry over the years, as well as her most recent portrayal of Judy Garland in “Judy.”

“Ms. Zellweger has always displayed a deep commitment and discipline in her performances which has always made me root for her and admire her deeply,” Santa Barbara International Film Festival Executive Director Roger Durling said. “In ‘Judy,’ she adds a ferocity that solidifies her as one of the greatest actors of her time.”

The American Riviera Award was established to recognize actors who have made a significant contribution to American cinema. Previous recipients include Viggo Mortensen, Sam Rockwell, Michael Keaton, Mark Ruffalo, Patricia Arquette, Sandra Bullock, Martin Scorsese, Quentin Tarantino, Diane Lane and Forrest Whitaker.

Zellweger’s other notable credits include “Bridget Jones’s Diary” and its sequels, as well “Chicago,” “Jerry Maguire,” “Cold Mountain” and most recently, Netflix’s TV series “What/If.”

She is represented by CAA, John Carrabino Management and Imprint PR.

The 35th Santa Barbara International Film Festival will take place January 15 to January 25 of next year.