SAG Awards Sets Sunday Date for 2019, but Won’t Compete With NFL Championship Game

Televised event marks show’s 25th anniversary

sag awards winners list mcdormand brown kidman
Getty Images

Next year you can enjoy your Screen Actors Guild Awards without the distraction of a pro football championship game cluttering up your Twitter feed.

That’s because next year’s gala is happening on Sunday, Jan. 27, 2019 — the week off between the NFL conference championships and the Super Bowl. (Earlier this year the show was held during the NFC title game on Sunday, Jan. 21).

Next year’s Super Bowl will be on Sunday, Feb. 3, 2019, and the conference championships are usually two weeks ahead of that date — showing no conflict with the 2019 SAG Awards. However, the Pro Bowl (all-star game) does happen on Jan. 27, 2019, the same day as the actors’ awards gala — but the game starts at noon, so there won’t be any overlap with the evening event in Hollywood.

SAG will celebrate the previous year’s outstanding film and television performances for its 25th anniversary show, simulcast live on TNT and TBS at 8 p.m. (ET)/5 p.m. (PT) on the big night.

SAG Awards are chosen entirely by performers’ peers in SAG-AFTRA, which this year numbered 121,544 eligible voters. The Inaugural Screen Actors Guild Awards® debuted on Feb. 25, 1995. Angela Lansbury opened the ceremony, ending with the first “I Am an Actor™” declaration, which has become the ceremony’s signature opening. The first-ever Actor® statuette was presented to Martin Landau for his supporting role in the film “Ed Wood.” Other first-ever SAG Award winners include Jason Alexander, Kathy Baker, Jodie Foster, Dennis Franz, Tom Hanks, Helen Hunt, Raul Julia (presented posthumously), Dianne Wiest, Joanne Woodward and the “NYPD Blue” and “Seinfeld” ensembles.

The show will be produced by Avalon Harbor Entertainment. Inc.