Sam Smith, Ansel Elgort and Natalie Dormer Among Logo TV’s ‘New Now Next Awards’ Winners

Darren Criss hosted the ceremony held at Art Basel in Miami

Getty Images

Logo TV handed out their New Now Next Awards to the biggest up-and-coming names of film, television, music and fashion on Tuesday night. “Glee’s” Darren Criss emceed the event from South Beach, kicking off Art Basel, an annual winter art show celebrated in Miami.

Big winners of the night include Sam Smith who was named Best New Musician – Male. Best New Musician – Female went to Betty Who, who also performed live at the award show, singing a duet with Lance Bass of N’SYNC’s hit “I Want You Back.”

On the film side, “Hunger Games” actress Natalie Dormer took home Best New Lead Film Actress for her role in “Mockingjay – Part 1,” while Ansel Elgort won Best New Lead Film Actor for “The Fault in Our Stars.” HBO’s “Looking” won Best New Television Series while the show’s star Jonathan Groff was named Best New Television Actor. Lorraine Toussaint won Best New Television Actress for her portrayal of Yvonne “Vee” Parker on “Orange is the New Black.”

Kristin Chenoweth received the New Now Next Forever Award and also performed at the event.

There to hand out awards was Ellen DeGeneres‘ now famous “gardener” Nick (real name Billy Reilich) who wore only a red speedo while passing out trophies from a pool next to the stage.

Getty Images
Getty Images

Other winners of the night included A Great Big World (Best New Music Group), Justin Simien (Best Motion Picture by a New Filmmaker, “Dear White People”), Gillian Flynn (Best New Screenwriter, “Gone Girl”), Bianca del Rio (Best New TV Personality) and “Hedwig and The Angry Inch” (Best New Broadway Production- Musical).

Logo TV’s 2014 “New Now Next Awards” will air on Logo TV Sunday at 8 p.m. ET and on Friday Dec. 12 at 7 p.m. ET on MTV.

Here’s the complete list of winners:

Best New Television Series:

Best New Television Actor:
Jonathan Groff, “Looking”

Best New Television Actress:
Lorraine Toussaint, “Orange is the New Black”

Best New Television Personality:
Bianca Del Rio, “RuPaul’s Drag Race”

Best Motion Picture By a New Filmmaker:
“Dear White People,” Justin Simien

Best New Screenwriter:
Gillian Flynn, “Gone Girl”

Best New Lead Film Actor
Ansel Elgort, “The Fault In Our Stars”

Best New Lead Film Actress
Natalie Dormer, “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1”

Best New Musician (Male)
Sam Smith

Best New Musician (Female)
Betty Who

Best New Music Group
A Great Big World

Best New Broadway Production (Musical)
“Hedwig and the Angry Inch”

Best New Broadway Production (Play)
“The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time”

Best New Broadway Lead Actor
Alexander Sharp, “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time”

Best New Broadway Lead Actress
Sophie Okonedo, “A Raisin in The Sun”

Best New Fashion Designer
Rachel Mansur & Floriana Gavriel, Mansur Gavriel

Best New Author (Fiction)
Mira Jacob, “The Sleepwalker’s Guide to Dancing”

Best New Art Exhibition
Kara Walker, “A Subtlety”

Social Influencers:
Best New Social Influencer (Male):
Troye Sivan, YouTube: Troye Sivan

Best New Social Influencer (Female):
Brittany Furlan, Vine: Brittany Furlan