Sela Ward to Play President in ‘Independence Day 2’

Liam Hemsworth, Jessie Usher, Maika Monroe star alongside returning stars Jeff Goldblum, Bill Pullman

As the world readies itself for a potential woman U.S. president in 2016, “Independence Day” is one step ahead. Sela Ward has been cast and will play the president in the Roland Emmerich sequel, which will conveniently be released right before the next presidential election.

New cast members include Liam Hemsworth, Jessie Usher, Maika Monroe, Travis Tope, Joey King and Charlotte Gainsbourg, while returning cast members from the beloved original include Jeff Goldblum, Bill Pullman, Vivica A. Fox and Judd Hirsch. Will Smith is not expected to return for the long-gestating sequel.

Dean Devlin wrote the first draft of the film with Emmerich, while James A. Woods and Nicolas Wright wrote the most recent draft. James Vanderbilt also had a hand in writing the movie, which Emmerich and Devlin are producing with Harald Kloser.

Ward, last seen in David Fincher’s “Gone Girl,” is represented by Gersh.