We've Got Hollywood Covered

Shonda Rhimes, Mark Gordon, 3 Others Appointed to TV Academy Executive Committee

Susanne Daniels, Richard Weitz and Carmi Zlotnik will also help set policy for the group

The Television Academy has appointed Susanne Daniels, Mark Gordon, Shonda Rhimes, Richard Weitz and Carmi Zlotnik to its executive committee. There, they’ll help set policy for the Academy in a changing and challenging TV landscape.

“We are exceptionally fortunate to have the opportunity to be advised and guided by five of the most insightful and ground-breaking executives in the television industry,” said Hayma Washington, chairman and CEO of the Television Academy. “Individually they deliver a wealth of experience and knowledge across global television platforms. Collectively, they represent the future of the industry and will play a significant role in leading the Television Academy and our members as our medium continues to evolve.”

Here are brief bios of the well-known newbies:

  • Susanne Daniels, global head of original content, YouTube; previously president of programming, MTV (“Scream,” “Finding Carter,” “Faking It,” “Are You The One?”)
  • Mark Gordon, award-winning motion picture and television producer (“Criminal Minds,” “Designated Survivor,” “Grey’s Anatomy,” “Ray Donovan”)
  • Shonda Rhimes, prolific creator and executive producer of ABC’s “Grey’s Anatomy,” “Private Practice” and “Scandal,” executive producer of ABC’s “How to Get Away with Murder,” “Still Star-Crossed” and the upcoming “For The People” and the untitled “Grey’s Anatomy” spin-off, author of the NY Times Best Selling book, “Year of Yes”
  • Richard Weitz, partner at William Morris Endeavor (WME) and co-head of WME’s scripted television department; clients include actors Rob Lowe, Priyanka Chopra, Ellie Kemper and LL Cool J, creators and showrunners Tina Fey, Robert Carlock, Seth MacFarlane, Ricky Gervais, Dave Mandel, Max Mutchnick and Steve Molaro and directors Jake Kasdan, David Nutter, Shawn Levy and Todd Holland
  • Carmi Zlotnik, president of programming, Starz (“American Gods,” “Black Sails,” “Outlander,” “Power,” “Flesh and Bone,” “The Girlfriend Experience”)

Additionally, the Academy’s board of governors have elected the following individuals as their representatives on the executive committee for the 2017 term: Jill Daniels, animation; Gail Mancuso, directors; Rickey Minor, music; and Mark Scott Spatny, special visual effects.

Rounding out the executive committee membership for the 2017 term are Academy officers Frank Scherma, vice chair; Steve Venezia, second vice chair; Susan Nessanbaum-Goldberg, secretary; Allison Binder, treasurer; and Mitch Waldow, Los Angeles Area vice chair; and Television Academy Foundation Chair, Madeline Di Nonno.

Please fill out this field.