We've Got Hollywood Covered

NHL Awards: Connor McDavid, Patrice Bergeron, Brent Burns Among Top Winners

Hockey stars from around the world gather in Las Vegas for the league’s annual awards show hosted by Joe Manganiello

Just a few months before the Golden Knights take to the ice for their first season in Las Vegas, the NHL Awards took over Sin City on Wednesday to honor the best players in the hockey league.

Connor McDavid, Patrice Bergeron (above) and Brent Burns were among the athletes who took home trophies at the 2017 NHL Awards and NHL Expansion Draft presented by T-Mobile in Las Vegas.

“True Blood” star and die-hard Pittsburgh Penguins fan Joe Manganiello hosted the show.

Boston Bruins centre Patrice Bergeron won the Selke Trophy as best defensive forward. Bergeron received the honor in 2012, 2014 and 2015, so he now joins Hockey Hall of Famer Bob Gainey — who presented the award — as the only players to win the Selke four times.

McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers won the Hart Trophy as the NHL’s most valuable player and the Ted Lindsay Award for the most outstanding player as voted by members of the NHL Players’ Association.

“To see the trophies up close and personal, touch them, get your picture with them, it makes it a little more real,” McDavid said, according to ESPN. “Today is a very special day in my life, for sure.”

The 20-year-old beat out fellow finalists Sergei Bobrovsky of Columbus and Sidney Crosby, of the current Stanley Cup champion Penguins. McDavid is the third-youngest player to win the Hart Trophy, with only Crosby and Wayne Gretzky claiming it as teenagers.

Later in the night, Burns of the San Jose Sharks took home the Norris Trophy as the top defenseman.