We've Got Hollywood Covered

Television Academy Elects Development Exec Rob Swartz to 2-Year Term as Secretary

The org also named several peer-group governors, who will serve two-year terms starting in January

Rob Swartz, veteran TV development executive and current president of Venn Media, has been elected to the Television Academy’s Board of Governors for a two-year term as secretary.

The academy also elected several new “peer group” governors to begin serving two-year terms beginning in January.

More to come … press release below:

NoHo Arts District, CA, November 21, 2013 - Returning Television Academy Chairman Bruce Rosenblum and other returning officers for the 2014 – 2015 term will be joined by Rob Swartz who was elected tonight by the Academy’s  Board of Governors to serve as Secretary for a two-year term which begins January 2014.

Rob Swartz is the President of Venn Media, which develops programming for cable, broadcast, syndication and digital platforms.  Previously, Swartz served as Vice President of Original Series for Cartoon Network where he oversaw development and current programming for all of the network’s original animated, live action and alternative series, including Adventure Time, Regular Show, Ben 10: Ultimate Alien, Hole in the Wall, Dude What Would Happen and Destroy Build Destroy.  Prior to that, Swartz was Vice President of Alternative Programming at Syfy where he developed and launched Destination Truth, Who Wants to be a Superhero? and was responsible for overseeing the successful Ghost Huntersfranchise.

Swartz has held positions at NBC Entertainment, Walt Disney/Touchstone Television, MXG, and Chris Craft/United Television. He has served as governor of the Television Executives Peer Group as well as a governors’ appointee to the Executive Committee, chair of the Digital Strategy Committee, and on the Academy’s Membership Committee.

Swartz is very active with the Television Academy Foundation and regularly gives the kickoff presentation each year to the Student Internship Program class and Faculty Seminar participants. A graduate of Brown University and Harvard Business School, Swartz teaches CTVA 482- Network Program Development, at Cal State-Northridge.  He lives in Los Angeles with his wife and two children.

Swartz will join previously announced officers who ran uncontested:

Chair – Bruce Rosenblum

Vice Chair – Kevin Hamburger

Second Vice Chair – Frank Scherma

Treasurer - Susan Nessanbaum-Goldberg

Los Angeles Area Vice Chair – Greg Taylor

Several peer groups also elected new governors to serve two year terms beginning January 1, 2014.  They include:

Ruth Adelman – Sound Editors Peer Group

Eric Anderson – Motion & Title Design Peer Group

Bob Bergen – Performers Peer Group

Allison Binder – Professional Representatives Peer Group

Dan Birman – Documentary Programming Peer Group

Scott Boyd, A.C.E – Picture Editors Peer Group

Sue Bub – Costume Design & Supervision Peer Group

Russell Calabrese – Animation Peer Group

Gerri Shaftel Constant – Los Angeles Area

Rick Fishbein – Commercials Peer Group

Ian Fraser – Music Peer Group

Tim Gibbons – Producers Peer Group

Tammy Glover – Production Executives Peer Group

Monte Haught – Makeup Artists / Hairstylists Peer Group

Tana Nugent Jamieson – Television Executives Peer Group

Chip Johannessen – Writers Peer Group

Marc Johnson – Interactive Media Peer Group

David Kleeman – Children’s Programming Peer Group

Sharon Lieblein, CSA – Casting Directors Peer Group

Angelica McDaniel – Daytime Programming Peer Group

Jonathan Murray – Reality Programming Peer Group

John O’Brien – Electronic Production Peer Group

Russ Patrick – Public Relations Peer Group

William Powloski – Special Visual Effects Peer Group

Fred Savage – Directors Peer Group

Steven Venezia, C.A.S – Sound Peer Group

Thom Williams – Stunts Peer Group

Kenneth Zunder, ASC – Cinematographers Peer Group

*The election results for the governor of the Art Directors / Set Decorators Peer Group will be announced on December 2nd.