TV Academy Love-Bombs Broadcasters With Special Emmy

70th anniversary gala to take place on June 2

The broadcasters may complain they don’t get enough Emmy love at award time.

But at its 70th anniversary gala, the Television Academy will honor all four major broadcast networks with a special award, the organization announced Tuesday.

ABC, CBS, Fox and NBC will all receive the “Hall of Fame Cornerstone Award” at the gala, which is set to take place on June 2.

“Without the stalwart courage, passion and creativity of countless visionaries at each of these four networks, this magical thing called television would have never evolved and the extraordinary innovations and possibilities that the future holds for our industry would never become reality,” Television Academy Chairman and CEO Bruce Rosenblum said in a statement.

Ben Sherwood, Co-Chairman, Disney Media Networks& President, Disney|ABC Television Group; Nina Tassler, former Chairman, CBS Entertainment and Television Academy Foundation Board Member; Peter Rice, Chairman and CEO of Fox Networks Group; and Robert Greenblatt, Chairman, NBC Entertainment, will all be on hand to accept the awards during the ceremony.