TV Academy Elects Hayma Washington as CEO, Chairman

Emmy winner will take over from Bruce Rosenblum on Jan. 1, when his five-year tenure comes to an end

Last Updated: November 18, 2016 @ 9:18 AM

Hayma Washington has been elected CEO and Chairman of the Television Academy, it was announced on Thursday. He will serve two years in the unpaid position.

He will take over from Bruce Rosenblum, whose five-year term has come to an end.

Washington has served as a governor in the producers branch for the last five years. He will now be the Academy’s first African-American chairman and CEO.

“I am honored to have been selected to lead the Academy and look forward to serving our membership alongside the governors, executive committee, Foundation and staff,” Washington said in a statement. “This is a time of considerable change for our industry and I am deeply committed to ensuring that the Academy is at the forefront as we move towards a more inclusive future.”

The Academy also announced its newly-elected officers and governors serving on the board for the 2017-2018 term on Thursday.

Nicknamed Screech, Washington runs his own production company banner called Screechers Pix. He was also an executive producer for CBS’ “Amazing Race,” earning both seven Emmy Awards and a Producers Guild Award for his work.

Before that, he was at Walt Disney Studios for 10 years as vice president in two production divisions. His career has also included working in live sports; on awards shows, including the MTV Video Music Awards, the ESPY Awards and the Primetime Emmy Awards; music; comedy; drama; talk; independent films; and short-form digital content, according to the Academy.

Washington will take over his new role on Jan. 1, when Rosenblum’s tenure comes to a close.

The other incoming officers who will serve a two-year term beginning Jan. 1, 2017 and running through Dec. 31, 2018 are:

Frank Scherma, Vice Chair

Steve Venezia, Second Vice Chair

Susan Nessanbaum-Goldberg, Secretary

Allison Binder, Treasurer

Mitch Waldow, Los Angeles Area Vice Chair.

The TV Academy was founded in 1946, and it is the organization behind the Primetime Emmy Awards.


Looks like you’re enjoying reading
Keep reading by creating
a free account or logging in.