WGA East 2018 Council Election – Former Guild President Michael Winship Gets Seat

Nine others get seats on this year’s council

WGA East

WGA East announced the results of its 2018 council election on Thursday, with former president Michael Winship earning a freelance seat.

Joining Winship in the freelance seats are incumbents Lisa Takeuchi Cullen, A.M. Homes, Christopher Kyle, and Kyle Bradstreet; as well as newcomers Monica Lee Bellais and Kaitlin Fontana. Gail Lee and Kathy McGee were re-elected to their staff seats, and will be joined by Kelly Stout.

Freelance members work in screen, television and new media, and Staff members work in television, radio and digital news shops under the Guild’s jurisdiction. The new council’s tenure will begin on Friday and continue for two years.

Winship, a longtime writer for Bill Moyers, was president of WGA East from 2007-2017, being elected just two months before the guild initiated a writers’ strike that lasted 100 days. He chose not to run for a sixth term last year, being replaced as president by “House of Cards” creator Beau Willimon.