We've Got Hollywood Covered

WGAW Hosting ‘Candidates Night’

The guild will be holding a town hall forum in preparation for its September elections.

Tensions should mount at the Writers Guild of America West's headquarters tonight as candidates gather for an annual town hall election forum.

Called "Candidates Night," the meeting will be held at the Guild's Fairfax District office and will allow members the chance to get to know those running for lead positions.

Six candidates have their sights set on the three officer positions, and 17 candidates look to fill eight seats on WGA's board of directors.

The officer candidates are as follows: President — John Wells, Elias Davis; Vice President — Tom Schulman, Howard Michael Gould; Secretary-Treasurer — Christopher Keyser, David N. Weiss.

There are 17 candidates nominated to run for eight open seats on the WGAW’s Board of Directors: Patric M. Verrone, Howard A. Rodman, Billy Ray, Jeff Lowell, Jed Weintrob, Dan Wilcox, Jan Oxenberg, Chip Johannessen, Mick Betancourt, Luvh Rakhe, Carleton Eastlake, David Wyatt, Jennifer Heath, Eric Wallace, Steven Schwartz, Ian Deitchman, Linda Burstyn.

This Candidates Night schedule is as follows: drinks from 6:00 – 6:30 p.m., board of director candidates Q&A session from 6:30 – 7:30 p.m.; dinner break from 7:30 – 8:30 p.m.; Officer candidates Q&A session from 8:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m.

Members may vote by mail or in person at the WGAW’s annual membership meeting on Thursday, September 17 – polls open at 6:00 p.m.

Ballots will be counted on Friday, September 18.