We've Got Hollywood Covered

13th Annual Webby Awards Winners Announced

NPR, New York Times, NBC lead in wins; Jimmy Fallon is Person of the Year.

The Webby Awards continue their mainstream climb.

The 13th annual awards were given out Tuesday, and the big, "special achievement" winners looked like a late-night talk-show line-up: Jimmy Fallon, Trent Reznor, Sarah Silverman, Lisa Kudrow and “Family Guy” creator Seth MacFarlane.

Fallon was named Webby Person of the Year for his support of online activities. Silverman, of course, won Best Actress for her short, “I’m F—ing Matt Damon,” and Kudow for her Outstanding Comedic Performance in the series “Web Therapy.”

Reznor won Artist of the Year, for releasing his 2008 album, “The Slip,” as a free download, and MacFarlane “Film & Video Person of the Year” for his "Cavalcade of Cartoon Comedy."

Twitter won the Webby for breakout of the year. NPR got seven awards, including Best Radio; the New York Times and NBC.com tied for six awards; and PBS won four.

Other winners include the Huffington Post, Best Political; Disney’s Family.com, Best Family; the Onion, Best Humor; England’s The Guardian, Best Newspaper; The Atlantic, Best Magazine; Coraline, Best Use of Animation; and "Prop 8: The Musical," which stars Jack Black and Neil Patrick Harris, Best Individual Comedy Short.


The actual awards will be handed out June 8 in New York, hosted by “Saturday Night Live’s” Seth Meyers. As in the past, acceptance speeches are limited to five words.


For the complete list of winners and nominees, check out the official Webbys site.