We've Got Hollywood Covered

2018 National Society of Film Critics Awards: Complete Winners List

“Lady Bird,” Sally Hawkins and Daniel Kaluuya win big

“Lady Bird,” Sally Hawkins and Daniel Kaluuya were among the winners of the National Society of Film Critics Awards, voted on and announced Saturday afternoon.

From director Greta Gerwig, “Lady Bird” took Best Picture ahead of runners up “Get Out” and “Phantom Thread.”

While Hawkins has earned wide praise for her leading role in Guillermo del Toro’s “The Shape of Water,” the critics group named her Best Actress for that film and another 2017 project — the low-profile character study “Maudie.”

Laurie Metcalfe earned Best Supporting Actress for “Lady Bird,” with Lesley Manville of “Phantom Thread” coming in a close second followed by “I, Tonya” star Allison Janney.

Kaluuya’s breakout turn in “Get Out” landed him Best Actor, ahead of Daniel Day-Lewis for “Phantom Thread” and Timothee Chalamet for “Call Me by Your Name.” Willem Dafoe took Best Supporting Actor for “The Florida Project,” edging out Michael Stuhlbarg for his triple-threat this year and Sam Rockwell of “Three Billboards.”

Top Cinematography and screenwriting prizes went to Roger Deakins for “Blade Runner 2049” and Gerwig for “Lady Bird,” respectively.

Votes are conducted using a weighted ballot system. Read below for a list of winners updating live, and check back for a complete tally.

The National Society of Film Critics was established in 1966, with its co-founders including Pauline Kael, Joe Morgenstern and Richard Schickel. The group currently has 59 active members, although members who have not seen all the contending films often disqualify themselves from voting.

For most of its history, the NSFC’s choices were more idiosyncratic than the Academy’s, and more oriented toward foreign cinema. Recent winners have included Jean-Luc Godard’s “Goodbye to Language,” as well as “Inside Llewyn Davis,” “Amour,” “Melancholia,” “Waltz With Bashir” and “There Will Be Blood.”

But while only five films in the group’s first 49 years won the NSFC’s top award and went on to win the Best Picture Oscar, the critics and the Academy have agreed the last two years in a row, with “Spotlight” in 2016 and “Moonlight” in 2017.

The winners:

Best Picture
“Lady Bird” (41)
“Get Out” (39)
“Phantom Thread” (28)

Best Actress
Sally Hawkins, “The Shape of Water” and “Maudie”  (49)
Saoirse Ronan, “Lady Bird” (44)
Cynthia Nixon, “A Quiet Passion” and Frances McDormand, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” (24)

Best Actor
Daniel Kaluuya, “Get Out” (44)
Daniel Day-Lewis, “Phantom Thread” (34)
Timothée Chalamet, “Call Me By Your Name” (24)

Best Supporting Actress
Laurie Metcalf, “Lady Bird” (74)
Lesley Manville, “Phantom Thread” (36)
Allison Janney, “I, Tonya” (24)

Best Supporting Actor
Willem Dafoe, “The Florida Project” (62)
Michael Stuhlbarg, “Call Me By Your Name,” “The Shape of Water” and “The Post” (25)
Sam Rockwell, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” (23)

Best Cinematography
Roger Deakins, “Blade Runner 2049” (40)
Hoyte van Hoytema, “Dunkirk” (39)
Alexis Zabe, “The Florida Project” (36)

Best Screenplay
Greta Gerwig, “Lady Bird” (50)
Jordan Peele, “Get Out” (49)
Paul Thomas Anderson, “Phantom Thread” (31)