‘Marriage Story’ Dominates Gotham Awards 2019: The Complete Winners List

Adam Driver, Awkwafina and Taylor Russell win acting awards

Marriage Story Scarlett Johansson Adam Driver

Noah Baumbach’s ‘Marriage Story’ dominated Monday’s 29th annual IFP Gotham Awards with four wins, including Best Feature and Best Actor for Adam Driver.

The ceremony, celebrating the best in indie cinema and television, was held Monday evening at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City and was presented by the Independent Filmmaker Project.

Acting awards went to Driver, to Awkwafina for “The Farewell” (Best Actress) and to Taylor Russell for “Waves” (Breakthrough Actress).

“American Factory” was named the year’s best documentary, while Laure De Clermont-Tonnerre won in the Breakthrough Director category for “The Mustang.”

In the television categories, prizes went to the Netflix miniseries “When They See Us” and the Hulu sitcom “PEN15.”

“The Lighthouse” and “Uncut Gems” went into the ceremony with multiple nominations but did not win anything.

The show also included tributes to actors Sam Rockwell and Laura Dern, director Ava DuVernay and FilmNation Entertainment CEO Glen Basner.

The Gotham winner has gone on to win the Oscar for Best Picture only four times — but those four have all come in the last 10 ceremonies, starting with “The Hurt Locker” in 2009 and including three years in a row with “Birdman” in 2014, “Spotlight” in 2015 and “Moonlight” in 2016.

A list of winners and nominees is below, with the winners denoted in bold.

Best Feature
“The Farewell” (A24)
“Hustlers” (STXfilms)
“Marriage Story” (Netflix) – WINNER
“Uncut Gems” (A24)
“Waves” (A24)

Best Documentary
“American Factory” (Netflix) – WINNER
“Apollo 11” (NEON and CNN Films)
“The Edge of Democracy” (Netflix)
“Midnight Traveler” (Oscilloscope Laboratories)
“One Child Nation” (Amazon Studios)

Breakthrough Director
Laure De Clermont-Tonnerre for “The Mustang” (Focus Features) – WINNER
Kent Jones for “Diane” (IFC Films)
Joe Talbot for “The Last Black Man in San Francisco” (A24)
Olivia Wilde for “Booksmart” (United Artists Releasing)
Phillip Youmans for “Burning Cane” (ARRAY Releasing)

Best screenplay
“The Farewell,” Lulu Wang (A24)
“High Flying Bird,” Tarell Alvin McCraney (Netflix)
“The Last Black Man in San Francisco, Jimmie Fails,” Joe Talbot, Rob Richert (A24)
“Marriage Story,” Noah Baumbach (Netflix) – WINNER
“Midsommar,” Ari Aster (A24)

Best Actor
Willem Dafoe in “The Lighthouse” (A24)
Adam Driver in “Marriage Story” (Netflix) – WINNER
Aldis Hodge in “Clemency” (NEON)
André Holland in “High Flying Bird” (Netflix)
Adam Sandler in “Uncut Gems” (A24)

Best Actress
Awkwafina in “The Farewell” (A24) – WINNER
Elisabeth Moss in “Her Smell” (Gunpowder & Sky)
Mary Kay Place in “Diane” (IFC Films)
Florence Pugh in “Midsommar” (A24)
Alfre Woodard in “Clemency” (NEON)

Breakthrough Actor
Julia Fox in “Uncut Gems” (A24)
Aisling Franciosi in “The Nightingale? (IFC Films)
Chris Galust in “Give Me Liberty” (Music Box Films)
Noah Jupe in “Honey Boy” (Amazon Studios)
Jonathan Majors in “The Last Black Man in San Francisco” (A24)
Taylor Russell in “Waves” (A24) – WINNER

Breakthrough Series – Long Format (over 40 minutes)
“Chernobyl” (HBO)
“David Makes Man” (OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network)
“My Brilliant Friend” (HBO)
“Unbelievable” (Netflix)
“When They See Us” (Netflix) – WINNER

Breakthrough Series – Short Format (under 40 minutes)
“PEN15” (Hulu) – WINNER
“Ramy” (Hulu)
“Russian Doll” (Netflix)
“Tuca & Bertie” (Netflix)
“Undone” (Amazon Prime Video)

Audience Award
“Marriage Story” – WINNER