Aaron Eckhart, Rosemarie DeWitt to Present Outfest Legacy Awards to Tom Hanks, Lisa Cholodenko

The event will be held on Thursday, November 5, in downtown Los Angeles

Outfest has announced that Aaron Eckhart and Rosemarie DeWitt will be presenting the Legacy Awards to Tom Hanks and Lisa Cholodenko, respectively. The event will take place on Thursday, Nov. 5 at performing arts venue Vibiana in downtown Los Angeles.

Comedian Whitney Cummings will serve as Master of Ceremonies. Grammy-nominated singer-songwriter Linda Perry is set to perform.

Outfest is a non-profit organization dedicated to sharing LGBT moving images and ensuring that they are preserved for future generations. Dan Bucatinsky, Peter Gal and Ari Karpel are co-chairing the 2015 Legacy Awards, which counts Merrill Lynch and Louis Vuitton among its sponsors and supporters.

As previously announced, Hanks will be honored with the Trailblazer Award in recognition of his groundbreaking, Oscar-winning performance in “Philadelphia.” Cholodenko is receiving the Visionary Award, which recognizes artistic and creative contributions to LGBT media visibility for a body of work that includes “The Kids Are All Right.”

The Legacy Awards serves as a fundraiser to support the Outfest UCLA Legacy Project, which is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year. The Outfest UCLA Legacy Project is the largest archive of LGBT moving images in the world, with over 35,000 items. Outfest and UCLA Film & Television Archive partnered in 2005 to create the Outfest UCLA Legacy Project, the only program in the world exclusively dedicated to saving and preserving LGBT moving images. The Legacy Project is aimed at the growing crisis in lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender moving image archiving.

Many of the landmark LGBT films produced over the last 40 plus years are already in danger of fading away; their original exhibition prints are in tatters and their negatives are in woeful storage conditions, or even lost. Celebrating its 10th anniversary, the Legacy Project is proud to have collected more than 35,000 moving image items and to have restored 23 historically important film and video projects.

Previous Legacy Award winners include Armistead Maupin (“Tales of the City”), Hilary Swank (“Boys Don’t Cry”), Lee Daniels (“Empire”), Craig Zadan and Neil Meron (“Chicago”), Adam Shankman (“Rock of Ages”), Roland Emmerich (“Stonewall”), Alan Poul (“The Newsroom”), Bruce Cohen (“Silver Linings Playbook”) and Paris Barclay (“Glee”).