We've Got Hollywood Covered

‘1917,’ ‘Joker,’ ‘The Irishman’ Among American Society of Cinematographers Nominees

”Ford v Ferrari“ and ”Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood“ are also nominated by the ASC, which has a good record of predicting Oscar nominations


“1917,” “Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood,” “The Irishman,” “Joker” and “Ford v Ferrari” have been nominated by the American Society of Cinematographers in the feature film category at the ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards, the organization announced on Friday.

Four of the nominated cinematographers are past nominees. Roger Deakins (“1917”) has been nominated 16 times and has won four times, while Robert Richardson (“Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood” has been nominated 11 times and Phedon Papamichael (“Ford v Ferrari”) and Rodrigo Prieto (“The Irishman”) each have three nominations.

Lawrence Sher (“Joker”) is a first-time ASC nominee, as are the three nominated cinematographers in the Spotlight Award category, which honors films that have not received wide theatrical release: Jarin Blaschke for “The Lighthouse,” Natasha Braier for “Honey Boy” and Jasper Wolf for “Monos.”

Films thought to be in the running that did not receive nominations include “Parasite,” “A Hidden Life,” “Little Women” and “Portrait of a Lady on Fire.”

Over the last decade, an ASC nomination has been a very reliable predictor of Oscar success. The ASC has nominated all five of the eventual Oscar nominees four times (including one year when ties produced seven ASC nominees), and has matched four of the five the other six times.

Overall, 85% of ASC film nominees in the 2010s went on to receive Oscar nominations, though the Academy’s Cinematographers Branch had several instances of making bolder or artier choices than the ASC: “Ida” over “The Imitation Game,” “The Tree of Life” over “Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy,” “Never Look Away” over “First Man” last year.

In the 33-year history of the ASC Awards, only two films have won the cinematography Oscar without first being nominated by the ASC: 1989’s “Glory” and 2006’s “Pan’s Labyrinth.”

The winners will be announced at the ASC Awards on Saturday, Jan. 25, a night in which four other awards ceremonies will be taking place simultaneously in Los Angeles.

The nominees:

Theatrical Release
Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for “1917”
Phedon Papamichael, ASC, GSC for “Ford v Ferrari”
Rodrigo Prieto, ASC, AMC for “The Irishman”
Robert Richardson, ASC for “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”
Lawrence Sher, ASC for “Joker”

Spotlight Award
Jarin Blaschke for “The Lighthouse”
Natasha Braier, ASC, ADF for “Honey Boy”
Jasper Wolf, NSC for “Monos”

Please fill out this field.