American Society of Cinematographers Announces TV and Documentary Nominations

Winners will be announced on Jan. 25

Anthropocene: The Human Epoch by Nicholas de Pencier (via ASC)

The features “Honeyland,” “Antopocene: The Human Epoch” and “Obscuro Barroco” were each recognized Monday with nominations for the brand-new documentary award from the American Society of Cinematographers’ Outstanding Achievement Awards.

The ASC also announced nominees in various TV categories for the 34th annual ceremony, which will be held at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland in Los Angeles on Jan. 25, 2020.

The ASC, which celebrated its 100th year in 2019, is a nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing the art of cinematography.

New to this year’s ceremony is the ASC Documentary Award, which was added to recognize exceptional cinematography in non-fiction filmmaking.

First-time nominees this year are Fejmi Daut, Nicholas de Pencier, Evangelia Kranioti, Samir Ljuma, C. Kim Miles, Polly Morgan, Peter Robertson, Chris Seeger and Craig Wrobleski. This year’s honorees include Frederick Elmes, Donald A. Morgan, Bruno Delbonnel and Don McCuaig.

You can find the full list of last year’s winners here.

Here are all the documentary and TV nominees for this year’s awards:


Fejmi Daut and Samir Ljuma – Honeyland
Nicholas de Pencier – Anthropocene: The Human Epoch
Evangelia Kranioti – Obscuro Barroco

Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television

David Luther – Das Boot, “Gegen die Zeit” (episode 6) (Sky)
M. David Mullen, ASC – The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “Simone” (Amazon)
Chris Seager, BSC – Carnival Row, “Grieve No More” (Amazon)
Brendan Steacy, CSC – Titans, “Dick Grayson” (DC Universe)
Colin Watkinson, ASC, BSC – The Handmaid’s Tale, “Night” (Hulu)

Episode of a Series for Commercial Television

Dana Gonzales, ASC – Legion, “Chapter 20” (FX)
C. Kim Miles, CSC, MySC – Project Blue Book, “The Flatwoods Monster” (History)
Polly Morgan, ASC, BSC – Legion, “Chapter 23” (FX)
Peter Robertson, ISC – Vikings, “Hell” (History)
David Stockton, ASC – Gotham, “Ace Chemicals” (FOX)

Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television

John Conroy, ISC – The Terror: Infamy, “A Sparrow in a Swallow’s Nest” (AMC)
P.J. Dillon, ISC – The Rook, “Chapter 1” (Starz)
Chris Manley, ASC – Doom Patrol, pilot (DC Universe)
Martin Ruhe, ASC – Catch-22, “Episode 5” (Hulu)
Craig Wrobleski, CSC – The Twilight Zone, “Blurryman” (CBS All Access)