Amy Sherman-Palladino to Receive PGA’s Norman Lear Achievement Award in TV

Creator of “Gilmore Girls” and “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” racks up another honor

Amy Sherman-Palladino, the mastermind behind the cult fave “Gilmore Girls” and the Amazon Prime hit “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” will receive the Producers Guild of America’s 2019 Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television, the guild announced Wednesday.

The 20-year veteran producer, creator, writer, and director will receive the award at the 30th annual Producers Guild Awards on Jan. 19, 2019 at The Beverly Hilton hotel in Los Angeles.

In January, Sherman-Palladino won the PGA’s Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy, for her work on “Mrs. Maisel.”

Sherman-Palladino also made history at this year’s Emmys by taking home the awards for both comedy writing and comedy directing, becoming the first woman in the awards’ 70-year history to do so.

“Amy Sherman-Palladino is everything you want a TV producer to be. She’s smart, she’s tenacious, she knows the story she wants to tell and how to put together the right team to tell it,” PGA presidents Gail Berman and Lucy Fisher said in a statement. “Her characters and stories may span different eras, but her sensibility is unique and unmistakable. Watch any episode from one of her series for just five minutes, and you’ll instantly understand why she’s built such a wide and passionate following.”

Ryan Murphy was the 2018 recipient of the PGA’s Norman Lear Award. Previous honorees include James L. Brooks, Shonda Rhimes, Mark Gordon, Chuck Lorre, J.J. Abrams, Dick Wolf, Jerry Bruckheimer, Lorne Michaels, David L. Wolper, Aaron Spelling, Carsey/Werner/Mandabach, Steven Bochco, David E. Kelley, Mark Burnett and Norman Lear himself.