And the Oscar Winners Are…

Here’s the complete list of Academy Award winners, updated as they are announced

Last Updated: March 7, 2010 @ 9:09 PM

Here’s the complete list of nominees for the 82nd annual Academy Awards. Winners will be in boldface type and moved up to the top of the list as they are announced.

Best Picture
  • “Avatar,” James Cameron and Jon Landau
  • “The Blind Side,” Gil Netter, Andrew A. Kosove and Broderick Johnson
  • “District 9,” Peter Jackson and Carolynne Cunningham
  • “An Education,” Finola Dwyer and Amanda Posey
  • “The Hurt Locker,” Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal, Nicolas Chartier and Greg Shapiro
  • “Inglourious Basterds,” Lawrence Bender
  • “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire,” Lee Daniels, Sarah Siegel-Magness and Gary Magness
  • “A Serious Man,” Joel Coen and Ethan Coen
  • “Up,” Jonas Rivera
  • “Up in the Air,” Daniel Dubiecki, Ivan Reitman and Jason Reitman


  • “Avatar” James Cameron
  • “The Hurt Locker” Kathryn Bigelow
  • “Inglourious Basterds” Quentin Tarantino
  • “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire” Lee Daniels
  • “Up in the Air” Jason Reitman

Actress in a Leading Role

  • Sandra Bullock, “The Blind Side”
  • Helen Mirren, “The Last Station”
  • Carey Mulligan, “An Education”
  • Gabourey Sidibe, “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”
  • Meryl Streep, “Julie & Julia”

Actor in a Leading Role

  • Jeff Bridges, “Crazy Heart”
  • George Clooney, “Up in the Air”
  • Colin Firth, “A Single Man”
  • Morgan Freeman, “Invictus”
  • Jeremy Renner, “The Hurt Locker”

Foreign-Language Film

  • “Ajami” Israel
  • “El Secreto de Sus Ojos” Argentina
  • "The Milk of Sorrow" Peru
  • "A Prophet" France
  • “The White Ribbon” Germany
Film Editing
  • “Avatar” Stephen Rivkin, John Refoua and James Cameron
  • “District 9” Julian Clarke
  • “The Hurt Locker” Bob Murawski and Chris Innis
  • “Inglourious Basterds” Sally Menke
  • “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire” Joe Klotz
Documentary (Feature)
  • “Burma VJ,” Anders Østergaard and Lise Lense-Møller
  • “The Cove,” Louie Psihoyos and Fisher Stevens
  • “Food, Inc.,” Robert Kenner and Elise Pearlstein
  • “The Most Dangerous Man in America: Daniel Ellsberg and the Pentagon Papers,” Judith Ehrlich and Rick Goldsmith
  • “Which Way Home,” Rebecca Cammisa 

Visual Effects

  • “Avatar” Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham and Andrew R. Jones
  • “District 9” Dan Kaufman, Peter Muyzers, Robert Habros and Matt Aitken
  • “Star Trek” Roger Guyett, Russell Earl, Paul Kavanagh and Burt Dalton
Music (Original Score)
  • “Avatar” James Horner
  • “Fantastic Mr. Fox” Alexandre Desplat
  • “The Hurt Locker” Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders
  • “Sherlock Holmes” Hans Zimmer
  • “Up” Michael Giacchino
  • “Avatar,” Mauro Fiore
  • “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince,” Bruno Delbonnel
  • “The Hurt Locker,” Barry Ackroyd
  • “Inglourious Basterds,” Robert Richardson
  • “The White Ribbon,” Christian Berger 

Sound Mixing

  • “Avatar” Christopher Boyes, Gary Summers, Andy Nelson and Tony Johnson
  • “The Hurt Locker” Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett
  • “Inglourious Basterds” Michael Minkler, Tony Lamberti and Mark Ulano
  • “Star Trek” Anna Behlmer, Andy Nelson and Peter J. Devlin
  • “Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen” Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers and Geoffrey Patterson

Sound Editing

  • “Avatar” Christopher Boyes and Gwendolyn Yates Whittle
  • “The Hurt Locker” Paul N.J. Ottosson
  • “Inglourious Basterds” Wylie Stateman
  • “Star Trek” Mark Stoeckinger and Alan Rankin
  • “Up” Michael Silvers and Tom Myers
Costume Design
  • “Bright Star,” Janet Patterson
  • “Coco Before Chanel,” Catherine Leterrier
  • “The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus,” Monique Prudhomme
  • “Nine,” Colleen Atwood
  • “The Young Victoria,” Sandy Powell 

Art Direction

  • “Avatar,” Art Direction: Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg; Set Decoration: Kim Sinclair
  • “The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus,” Art Direction: Dave Warren and Anastasia Masaro; Set Decoration: Caroline Smith
  • “Nine,” Art Direction: John Myhre; Set Decoration: Gordon Sim
  • “Sherlock Holmes,” Art Direction: Sarah Greenwood; Set Decoration: Katie Spencer
  • “The Young Victoria,” Art Direction: Patrice Vermette; Set Decoration: Maggie Gray 
Actress in a Supporting Role
  • Penélope Cruz, “Nine”
  • Vera Farmiga, “Up in the Air”
  • Maggie Gyllenhaal, “Crazy Heart”
  • Anna Kendrick, “Up in the Air”
  • Mo’Nique, “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”
 Writing (Adapted Screenplay)
  • “District 9” Written by Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell
  • “An Education” Screenplay by Nick Hornby
  • “In the Loop” Screenplay by Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci, Tony Roche
  • “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire” Screenplay by Geoffrey Fletcher
  • “Up in the Air” Screenplay by Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner
  • “Il Divo” Aldo Signoretti and Vittorio Sodano
  • “Star Trek” Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow
  • “The Young Victoria” Jon Henry Gordon and Jenny Shircore
Documentary (Short Subject)

  • “China’s Unnatural Disaster: The Tears of Sichuan Province” Jon Alpert and Matthew O’Neill
  • “The Last Campaign of Governor Booth Gardner” Daniel Junge and Henry Ansbacher
  • “The Last Truck: Closing of a GM Plant” Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert
  • “Music by Prudence” Roger Ross Williams and Elinor Burkett
  • “Rabbit à la Berlin” Bartek Konopka and Anna Wydra
Short Film (Live-Action)
  • “The Door” Juanita Wilson and James Flynn
  • “Instead of Abracadabra” Patrik Eklund and Mathias Fjellström
  • “Kavi” Gregg Helvey
  • “Miracle Fish” Luke Doolan and Drew Bailey
  • “The New Tenants” Joachim Back and Tivi Magnusson

Short Film (Animated)

  • “French Roast” Fabrice O. Joubert
  • “Granny O’Grimm’s Sleeping Beauty” Nicky Phelan and Darragh O’Connell
  • “The Lady and the Reaper (La Dama y la Muerte)” Javier Recio Gracia
  • “Logorama” Nicolas Schmerkin
  • “A Matter of Loaf and Death” Nick Park
Writing (Original Screenplay)
  • “The Hurt Locker” Written by Mark Boal
  • “Inglourious Basterds” Written by Quentin Tarantino
  • “The Messenger” Written by Alessandro Camon & Oren Moverman
  • “A Serious Man” Written by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen
  • “Up” Screenplay by Bob Peterson, Pete Docter, Story by Pete Docter, Bob Peterson, Tom McCarthy 
Music (Original Song)
  • “Almost There” from “The Princess and the Frog” Music and Lyric by Randy Newman
  • “Down in New Orleans” from “The Princess and the Frog” Music and Lyric by Randy Newman
  • “Loin de Paname” from “Paris 36” Music by Reinhardt Wagner Lyric by Frank Thomas
  • “Take It All” from “Nine” Music and Lyric by Maury Yeston
  • “The Weary Kind (Theme from Crazy Heart)” from “Crazy Heart” Music and Lyric by Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett 

Animated Feature Film 

  • “Coraline,” Henry Selick
  • “Fantastic Mr. Fox,” Wes Anderson
  • “The Princess and the Frog,” John Musker and Ron Clements
  • “The Secret of Kells,” Tomm Moore
  • “Up,” Pete Docter

Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Matt Damon, “Invictus”
  • Woody Harrelson, “The Messenger”
  • Christopher Plummer, “The Last Station”
  • Stanley Tucci, “The Lovely Bones”
  • Christoph Waltz, “Inglourious Basterds”