‘Argo,’ ‘Silver Linings Playbook,’ ‘Mud’ Win Casting Awards

On the heels of the creation of their own Academy branch, casting directors honor film, television and theater work

Ben Affleck‘s “Argo” and David O. Russell’s “Silver Linings Playbook” may be last year’s movies, but they’re not finished winning awards yet.

The two films, both Oscar winners in February, were honored for their casting at the Casting Society of America’s 29th Artios Awards, which were handed out in ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York on Monday night.

Casting director Lora Kennedy, a new Academy governor, won in the Big Budget Feature – Drama category for “Argo,” the reigning Oscar Best Picture winner. Mary Vernieu, Lindsay Graham, Diane Heery and Jason Loftus won for “Silver Linings Playbook” in the Big Budget Feature – Comedy category.

Also read: Casting Directors Elated, Validated Over Getting Their Own Branch in Movie Academy (Video)

Other feature films that won awards for their casting directors were “Moonrise Kingdom,” for which Douglas Aibel and Henry Russell Bergstein were honored in the Feature – Studio or Independent Comedy category, “The Sessions,” which brought the Low Budget Feature award to Ronnie Yeskel, and “Wreck-It Ralph,” which won the animation prize for Jamie Sparer Roberts.

The only 2013 film to take home an Artios award was Jeff Nichols’ “Mud,” which brought awards to Francine Master and Diana Guthrie in the Feature – Studio or Independent – Drama category.

On the television side, winners included the casting directors of “Girls,” “The Mindy Project,” “House of Cards,” “Homeland” and “Behind the Candelabra.”

2013 Artios Awards

Getty Images

Awards were also given out for Broadway theater and regional theater, while honorary awards went to Nina Tassler (Career Achievement Award), Linda Lowy (Hoyt Bowers Award) and Michael J. Fox (New York Apple Award, right).

Also read: TCA: Michael J. Fox – ‘We All Get Our Own Parkinson’s’

The awards came at a particularly festive time for casting directors, who earlier this year were given their own branch in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. “Argo” winner Kennedy was elected one of the governors of the new branch in October, along with Bernie Telsey and David Rubin.

The ceremonies were held simultaneously at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles and the XL Nightclub, Cabaret & Lounge in New York. Nicole Sullivan hosted the L.A. show, while Harvey Fierstein did the honors in New York. Presenters included Jake Gyllenhaal, Kerry Washington and Michael B. Jordan in L.A. and Orlando Bloom, Hank Azaria and Corey Stoll in New York.

The winners:

Big Budget Feature – Comedy
“Silver Linings Playbook,” Mary Vernieu, Lindsay Graham, Diane Heery (Location Casting), Jason Loftus (Location Casting)

Big Budget Feature – Drama
“Argo,” Lora Kennedy

Feature РStudio or Independent  РComedy
“Moonrise Kingdom,” Douglas Aibel, Henry Russell Bergstein (Associate)

Feature – Studio or Independent – Drama
“Mud,” Francine Maisler, Diana Guthrie (Location Casting)

Low Budget Feature – Comedy or Drama
“The Sessions,” Ronnie Yeskel

Animation Feature
“Wreck-It Ralph,” Jamie Sparer Roberts

Short Film
“The Learning Curve,” Kendra Patterson

Television Pilot Comedy
“The Mindy Project,” Felicia Fasano

Television Pilot Drama
“House of Cards,” Laray Mayfield

Television Series Comedy
“Girls,” Jennifer Euston

Television Series Drama
“Homeland,” Judy Henderson, Lisa Mae Fincannon (Location Casting), Craig Fincannon (Location Casting)

Television Movie or Mini Series
“Behind the Candelabra,” Carmen Cuba, Wittney Horton (Associate)

Daytime Drama Series
“The Young and the Restless,” Judy Blye Wilson

Children’s Series
“iCarly,” Krisha Bullock, Jennifer K.M. Treadwell (Associate)

Television Animation
“Family Guy,” Linda Lamontagne

New York Broadway Theatre – Comedy
“Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike,” Daniel Swee

New York Broadway Theatre – Drama
“Golden Boy,” Daniel Swee

New York Broadway Theatre – Musical
“Kinky Boots,” Bernard Telsey, Justin Huff

New York Theatre – Comedy or Musical
“The Madrid,” David Caparelliotis

New York Theatre – Drama
“If There Is I Haven’t Found It Yet,” Jim Carnahan

Regional Theatre East
“The Glass Menagerie,” Jim Carnahan, Stephen Kopel

Regional Theatre West
“Pygmalion,” David Caparelliotis

Los Angeles Theatre
“Joe Turner’s Come and Gone,” Joanne DeNaut, Andy Crocker (Associate)

Special Theatrical Performance East
“Carousel,” Jay Binder, Jack Bowdan

Special Theatrical Performance West
“The Book of Mormon,” Carrie Gardner


Career Achievement Award
Nina Tassler

Hoyt Bowers Awards
Linda Lowy

New York Apple Award
Michael J. Fox