We've Got Hollywood Covered

‘The Favourite,’ ‘Roma,’ ‘Black Panther’ Nab Art Directors Guild Nominations

Other nominees in the ADG’s film categories include ”First Man,“ ”Bohemian Rhapsody,“ ”Fantastic Beasts,“ ”Mary Poppins Returns,“ ”A Star Is Born“ and ”The Ballad of Buster Scruggs“


“The Favourite,” “Roma,” “First Man,” “Bohemian Rhapsody” and “The Ballad of Buster Scruggs” on Monday all nabbed nominations for the Art Directors Guild Awards’ period-film category, the ADG category that most closely corresponds to the Academy Award for Best Production Design.

In the ADG fantasy-film category, which typically supplies one or two Oscar nominees, the guild singled out “Black Panther,” “Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald,” “The House With a Clock in its Walls,” “Mary Poppins Returns” and “Ready Player One.”

Nominees in the contemporary-film category are “A Quiet Place,” “A Star Is Born,” “Crazy Rich Asians,” “Mission: Impossible – Fallout” and “Welcome to Marwen.”

Animated-film nominees are “Dr. Seuss’ The Grinch,” “The Incredibles 2,” “Isle of Dogs,” “Ralph Breaks the Internet” and “Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse.”

Nominees in the television categories include “Westworld,” “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” “Better Call Saul,” “The Handmaid’s Tale,” “The Alienist,” “The Assassination of Gianni Versace,” “Atlanta,” “The Good Place,” “Murphy Brown” and “The Big Bang Theory.”

Over the last decade, more than 80 percent of the Oscar nominees for production design, including all the winners, have first been nominated by the Art Directors Guild. Last year was typical: Three of the Oscar nominees came from the ADG’s period category and two from the fantasy category.

Winners will be announced at the 2019 Art Directors Guild Awards on Saturday, Feb. 2. At that show, “Mary Poppins Returns” director Rob Marshall will receive the ADG Cinematic Imagery Award, while Anthony Masters and Benjamin Carre will be inducted into the ADG Hall of Fame. Lifetime Achievement Awards will also go to Jeannine Oppewall, Ed Verreaux, Jim Fiorito and William F. Matthews.

The Art Directors Guild nominees:


Period Film:
“The Ballad of Buster Scruggs,” Jess Gonchor
“Bohemian Rhapsody,” Aaron Haye
“The Favourite,” Fiona Crombie
“First Man,” Nathan Crowley
“Roma,” Eugenio Caballero

Fantasy Film:
“Black Panther,” Hannah Beachler
“Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald,” Stuart Craig
“The House With a Clock in Its Walls,” Jon Hutman
“Mary Poppins Returns,” John Myhre
“Ready Player One,” Adam Stockhausen

Contemporary Film:
“A Quiet Place,” Jeffrey Beecroft
“A Star Is Born,” Karen Murphy
“Crazy Rich Asians,” Nelson Coates
“Mission: Impossible – Fallout,” Peter Wenham
“Welcome to Marwen,” Stefan Dechant

Animated Film:
“Dr. Seuss’ The Grinch,” Colin Stimpson
“Incredibles 2,” Ralph Eggleston
“Isle of Dogs,” Adam Stockhausen, Paul Harrod
“Ralph Breaks the Internet,” Cory Loftis
“Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse,” Justin K. Thompson


One-Hour Period or Fantasy Single-Camera Series:
“A Series of Unfortunate Events”: “The Ersatz One,” Bo Welch
“The Haunting of Hill House”: “The Bent-Neck Lady,” Patricio M. Farrell
“The Man in the High Castle”: “No More than Ever, We Care About You,” “History Ends,” “Jahr Null,” Drew Boughton
“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”: “Simone,” “We’re Going to the Catskills!,” Bill Groom
“Westworld”: “Akane No Mai,” Howard Cummings

One-Hour Contemporary Single-Camera Series:
“Better Call Saul”: “Pinata,” “Coushatta,” Judy Rhee
“Castle Rock”: “The Box,” Steve Arnold
“The Handmaid’s Tale”: “June,” “Unwomen,” Mark White, Elisabeth Williams
“House of Cards”: “Episode 627: Chapter 72,” Julie Walker
“Ozark”: “Once a Langmore …,” “The Gold Coast,” Derek R. Hill

Television Movie or Limited Series:
“The Alienist”: “The Boy on the Bridge,” Mara LePere-Schloop
“American Horror Story: Apocalypse”: “Fire and Reign,” Valdar Wilt
“The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story,” Judy Becker
“Maniac,” Alex Dingerlando
“Sharp Objects,” John Paino

Half Hour Single-Camera Series:
“Atlanta”: “Teddy Perkins,” Timothy O’Brien
“GLOW”: “Viking Funeral,” “Perverts Are People, Too,” “Rosalie,” Todd Fjelsted
“The Good Place: “Janet(s),” Ian Phillips
“Homecoming”: “Mandatory,” Anastasia White
“Silicon Valley”: “Tech Evangelist,” “Artificial Emotional Intelligence,” Richard Toyon

Multi-Camera Series:
“The Big Bang Theory”: “The Novelization Correlation,” “The Sibling Realignment,” “The Bow Tie Asymmetry,” John Shaffner
“Murphy Brown”: “#MurphyToo,” Jane Musky
“The Ranch”: “Travelin’ Prayer,” “Tie Our Love (in a Double Knot),” “Fresh Out of Forgiveness,” John Shaffner
“Sesame Street”: “Book Worming,” “The Count’s Counting Error,” “Street Food,” David Gallo
“Will & Grace”: “The Three Wise Men,” “Tex and the City,” “Anchor Away,” Glenda Rovello

Short Format: Web Series, Music Video or Commercial:
Apple: “Welcome Home,” Christopher Glass
Ariana Grande: “no tears left to cry,” Ethan Tobman
A Tribe Called Quest: “The Space Program,” Kai Boydell
Kendrick Lamar: “All the Stars,” Ethan Tobman
Nespresso: “Quest,” Michael Gaw
Rolex: “2018 Academy Awards,” Shane Valentino, Craig Pavilion

Variety, Reality or Event Special:
“Drunk History”: “Halloween,” Chloe Arbiture
“Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert,” Jason Ardizzone-West
“The Oscars”: “90th Academy Awards,” Derek McLane
“Portlandia”: “Riot Spray,” Schuyler Telleen
“Saturday Night Live”: Bill Hader & Arcade Fire, John Mulaney & Jack White, Donald Glover & Childish Gambino, Keith Raywood, Eugene Lee, Akira Yoshimura, Joseph DeTullio