We've Got Hollywood Covered

Artios Awards for Casting Go to ‘Once Upon a Time in Hollywood,’ ‘Jojo Rabbit,’ ‘Marriage Story’

Television winners include ”Game of Thrones,“ ”The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,“ ”Pose“ and ”Russian Doll“

The casting directors of “Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood,” “Knives Out,” “Jojo Rabbit” and “Marriage Story” were among the winners at the 35th annual Artios Awards, held Thursday at ceremonies in Los Angeles, New York and London.

Other winners in the eight feature-film categories were the casting directors on “The Last Black Man in San Francisco,” “Skin in the Game,” “Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker,” “The Lion King” and “Toy Story 4,” the last two of which tied in the animation category.

Television winners included the casting directors for the first seasons of “Russian Doll” and “Pose,” as well as those on the miniseries “When They See Us,” the reality program “Queer Eye” and the continuing series “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” and “Game of Thrones.”

Awards were also given out in short film and theater categories.

In the 34 previous years of the Artios Awards, the film that would win the Academy Award for Best Picture was also honored for its casting 14 times. Nine of those times have come in the last 14 years, including “Green Book” last year.

The Artios Awards were first handed out in 1985 and are chosen by members of the Casting Society of America, an organization founded in 1982.

Ron Funches hosted the L.A. ceremony, Michelle Buteau the New York show and Jason Isaacs the London event.

Special awards were given to actress and advocate Geena Davis (the Lynn Stalmaster Award for Career Achievement), Deborah Aquila (the Hoyt Bowers Award), Audra McDonald (the Marion Dougherty New York Apple Award), Andrew Femenella (the Rosalie Joseph Humanitarian Award), Tim Bevan and Eric Fellne (the Artios Award for Creative Collaboration), Andy Pryor (the Excellence in Casting Award) and Pippa Markham, Kate Buckley and Gillian Hawser.

The winners:

Feature Film Recipients

Animation: (TIE) “The Lion King,” Sarah Halley Finn, Jason B. Stamey (Associate); and “Toy Story 4,” Kevin Reher, Natalie Lyon
Big Budget – Comedy: “Knives Out,” Mary Vernieu, Angela Peri (Location Casting), Bret Howe (Associate)
Big Budget – Drama: “Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood,” Victoria Thomas
Studio or Independent – Comedy: “Jojo Rabbit,” Des Hamilton
Studio or Independent – Drama: “Marriage Story,” Francine Maisler, Douglas Aibel, Kathy Driscoll-Mohler (Associate)
Low Budget – Comedy or Drama: “The Last Black Man in San Francisco,” Julia Kim, Nina Henninger (Location Casting), Sarah Kliban (Associate)
Micro Budget – Comedy or Drama: “Skin in the Game,” Matthew Lessall
The Zeitgeist Award: “Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker,” Nina Gold, April Webster, Alyssa Weisberg, Angela Young (Associate)

Television Recipients

Television Pilot and First Season – Comedy: “Russian Doll,” Christine Kromer, Andrew Femenella (Associate)
Television Pilot and First Season – Drama: “Pose,” Alexa L. Fogel, Kathryn Zamora-Benson (Associate), Caitlin D. Jones (Associate)
Television Series Comedy: “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” Cindy Tolan, Juliette Ménager (Location Casting), Anne Davison (Associate)
Television Series – Drama: “Game of Thrones,” Nina Gold, Robert Sterne, Carla Stronge (Location Casting)
Limited Series: “When They See Us,” Aisha Coley, Billy Hopkins (Location Casting), Ashley Ingram (Location Casting)
Film – Non-Theatrical Release: “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before,” Tamara-Lee Notcutt, Tiffany Mak (Location Casting), Alexis Allen (Associate)
Live Television Performance, Variety or Sketch Comedy: “Live in Front of a Studio Audience: Norman Lear’s ‘All in the Family’ and ‘The Jeffersons’,” Marc Hirschfeld, Geralyn Flood, Katrina Wandel George (Associate)
Children’s Pilot and Series (Live Action): “Andi Mack,” Amber Horn, Danielle Aufiero, Steven Tylor O’Connor (Associate)
Television Animation: “Big Mouth,” Julie Ashton-Barson
Reality Series: “Queer Eye,” Gretchen Palek, Danielle Gervais, Ally Capriotti Grant, Quinn Fegan, Pamela Vallarelli
Short Film: “Skin,” Jessica Sherman
Short Form Series: “It’s Bruno!,” Bess Fifer

Theatre Recipients

New York Broadway Theatre – Comedy or Drama: “To Kill a Mockingbird,” Daniel Swee
New York Broadway Theatre – Musical: “Hadestown,” Duncan Stewart, Benton Whitley
New York Broadway Theatre – Revival, Comedy or Drama: “The Waverly Gallery,” David Caparelliotis, Lauren Port
New York Broadway Theatre – Revival, Musical: “Oklahoma!,” Adam Caldwell, Will Cantler
New York Theatre – Comedy or Musical: “Fiddler on the Roof in Yiddish (fidler afn Dakh),” Jamibeth Margolis
New York Theatre – Drama: “Daddy,” Judy Henderson, Nick Peciaro (Associate)
Regional Theatre: “In the Heights,” Tara Rubin, Claire Burke
Los Angeles Theatre: “Sweat,” Heidi Levitt, Billy Hopkins (NY Casting), Ashley Ingram (NY Casting), Marin Hope (Associate)
Special Theatrical Performance: “Annie,” Margery Simkin, Michael Donovan, Beth Lipari, Richie Ferris (Associate)
Theatre Tours: “Hamilton,” Bethany Knox, Lauren Harris (Associate)