Bigelow Takes Directing Prize From London Film Critics Circle

Jacques Audiard’s “A Prophet” named film of the year

Last Updated: February 19, 2010 @ 2:36 PM

The London Film Critics Circle named Kathryn Bigelow its director of the year for "The Hurt Locker" at its awards ceremony on Thursday night.

Andrea Arnold won as British director for "Fish Tank," and her film won the Attenborough Award, the equivalent of best British film.

Jacques Audiard’s "A Prophet," an Oscar nominee for foreign-language film, was named film of the year. Swedish vampire movie "Let the Right One In" was the London critics’ choice as foreign-language film of the year.

"In the Loop" won the screenplay award for Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Ianucci and Tony Roche. It’s also a contender for the original screenplay Oscar.

The critics organize their acting prizes a bit differently: Its top acting prizes went to Christoph Waltz for "Inglourious Basterds" and Mo’Nique for "Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire." Both are nominated in supporting categories at the Oscars and have dominated the supporting categories this awards season.

The London Film Critics Circle’s supporting acting awards went to Michael Fassbender for "Fish Tank" and Anne-Marie Duff for "Nowhere Boy."

The London group also hands out acting prizes in the categories of British actor and actress. Those went to Colin Firth for "A Single Man" and Carey Mulligan for "An Education," both Oscar nominees.

Duncan Jones won the breakthrough British filmmaker award for science fiction pic "Moon."

Quentin Tarantino, who attended the ceremony at the Landmark Hotel in London, received the Dilys Powell Award for excellence in cinema.

Actor Jason Isaacs hosted the awards ceremony.