‘Bombshell’ to Receive Stanley Kramer Award from Producers Guild

PGA Awards will be held on Jan. 18, 2020 in Los Angeles

Bombshell Charlize Theron Nicole Kidman Margot Robbie
"Bombshell" / Lionsgate

“Bombshell” is set to receive the Stanley Kramer Award from the Producers Guild of America at the upcoming PGA Awards, the guild announced Monday.

The 2020 PGA Awards will be held on Jan. 18, 2020 at the Hollywood Palladium in Los Angeles. The award, established in 2002, honors a production, producer or other individuals whose achievement or contribution illuminates and raises public awareness of important social issues.

Last year, the PGA recognized Jane Fonda for her activism. Past winners include “Get Out,” “Loving,” “Fruitvale Station,” “The Nomal Heart,” “The Hunting Ground,” “An Inconvenient Truth,” “Hotel Rwanda,” “In America,” “Antwone Fisher,” “Precious,” “In the Land of Blood and Honey” and “Bully.”

“‘Bombshell’ proves that cinema has the power to encapsulate moments and movements in a way that serves and enlightens us all,” Producers Guild of America presidents Gail Berman and Lucy Fisher said in a statement.

The film from Lionsgate and Bron Studios opens in New York and LA on Dec. 13 and takes a look inside Fox News, following the bombshell story that led to the ousting of Roger Ailes during the height of the #MeToo era. Charlize Theron plays Megyn Kelly in the film, and Nicole Kidman is Gretchen Carlson. Margot Robbie, Allison Janney and John Lithgow.

The 2020 Producers Guild Awards executive producer is Suzanne Todd. The committee chair for the Stanley Kramer Award is Jon Jashni. Sponsors of the 2020 Producers Guild Awards include: General Motors, Official Automotive Partner; Delta, Official Airline Partner and sponsor of the Visionary Award; GreenSlate, Cocktail Reception sponsor.