We've Got Hollywood Covered

Rock Hall of Fame Prefers Bon Jovi to Radiohead, Thank You Very Much

Newly announced inductees The Cars, Dire Straits, The Moody Blues and Sister Rosetta Tharpe; Rage Against the Machine snubbed

Bon Jovi, Dire Straits, the Moody Blues, the Cars and Nina Simone will be the latest musicians inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

On Wednesday, the institution announced those artists will make up the class of 2018 in the spring and joining the ranks of its elite list of iconic musicians. Sister Rosetta Tharpe will be honored with the Early Influence award.

You know who wasn’t given an invitation to join the club? Radiohead. The band didn’t make the cut this year, though a huge talking point was whether the band would attend the ceremony if they got in, based on their touring schedule for 2018. Rage Against the Machine was also snubbed.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame will only consider artists 25 years after the release of their first album or single, meaning this year was the first time Radiohead was eligible for induction.

Simone died in 2003 and Tharpe in 1973, so the Hall of Fame will likely have artists influenced by their music to perform alongside the other inductees at the ceremony.

The 33rd Annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, presented by Klipsch Audio, is scheduled to take place on April 14, 2018 at Cleveland’s Public Hall. The event will later be televised on HBO and a radio broadcast will hit SiriusXM’s airwaves. The on-sale dates for tickets to the ceremony will be announced in January.