Boston Critics Honor ‘The Hurt Locker’

Kathryn Bigelow’s gritty film wins five top awards from the Boston Society of Film Critics

Last Updated: December 13, 2009 @ 1:54 PM

"The Hurt Locker" was the big winner at the Boston Society of Film Critics awards, which were announced on Sunday afternoon.

Kathryn Bigelow’s gritty film about a bomb squad in Iraq took home five awards, including best picture, best director, best actor (Jeremy Renner), best cinematography and best film editing. 

As did the Los Angeles Film Critics Association, the BSFC honored Christoph Waltz and Mo’Nique for their supporting roles in "Inglourious Basterds" and "Precious."  Meryl Streep won best actress honors for "Julie & Julia." 

Other award winners included Joel and Ethan Coen (best screenplay, "A Serious Man"), "The Cove" (best documentary) and "Up" (best animated feature). 

Jason Reitman’s "Up in the Air," which has won the top prize at most of the awards announced in recent days, did not win any of the BSFC awards.

The list of winners:

Best Picture: “The Hurt Locker”

Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow, “The Hurt Locker”

Best Ensemble: “Precious” and “Star Trek” (tie)

Best Actor: Jeremy Renner, “The Hurt Locker” (right)

Best Actress: Meryl Streep, “Julie & Julia”

Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz, “Inglourious Basterds”

Best Supporting Actress: Mo’Nique, “Precious”

Best Screenplay: Joel and Ethan Coen, “A Serious Man”

Best Documentary: “The Cove”

Best Animated Feature: “Up”

Best New Filmmaker: Neill Blomkamp, “District 9″ 

Best Cinematography: Barry Ackroyd, “The Hurt Locker”

Best Film Editing: Chris Innis and Bob Murawski, “The Hurt Locker”

Best Use of Music: “Crazy Heart”