We've Got Hollywood Covered

Bruce Rosenblum Elected TV Academy’s Chairman, CEO

Current president of Warner Bros. TV Group will begin two-year term in January

Bruce Rosenblum has been voted in as the new chairman and CEO of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, the Academy announced Wednesday.

Rosenblum, currently the president of Warner Bros. Television Group, was elected to a two-year term and will assume his new duties in January.

He replaces two-term chairman John Shaffner, who was not eligible to run again, and becomes the first top network executive to take the unpaid position since Rich Frank in 1997.

Rosenblum ran against producer Nancy Bradley Wiard, a longtime ATAS insider who is serving her second term as first vice chair. He was recruited by some members to run in an attempt to bring in a new voice and a higher-profile chairman.

Warner Bros. is a dominant studio in television, increasing the chances for Rosenblum to run into conflicts of interest in his new position but also giving him more clout than Wiard would have wielded.

Earlier this year, the Academy signed a new deal with the four broadcast television networks to televise the Emmy Awards for another eight years. Changes in the show, including a reduction in the number of categories presented on the air, are expected to be a key part of the agenda facing Rosenblum in his tenure as chairman.

The Board of Governors elected six new officers in all, including Kevin Hamburger, the outgoing treasurer and senior supervising producer of "The Talk," as vice chair, and Frank Scherma as second vice chair.

A runoff election between Bob Bergen and Peter Kwong for the position of Governors of the Performers Peer Group remains to be held.

Read the full press release below.


Organization Elects Six New 2012 – 2013 Officers

North Hollywood, CA, November, 16, 2011 – The Board of Governors of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences has elected Bruce Rosenblum as its new Chairman/CEO. Rosenblum was elected to a two-year term which will begin in January 2012.

Rosenblum currently serves as President of Warner Bros. Television Group. In this role Rosenblum oversees the worldwide distribution of all Warner Bros. Television Group programming to all current and emerging platforms and strategically develops new business models for the evolving television landscape.

Additionally, Rosenblum was an architect of the CBS joint venture forming The CW, which he continues to oversee on behalf of Warner Bros.

Rosenblum serves on the board of directors of City National Bank, is past president of the Friends of the Los Angeles Free Clinic and past chairman of the board of trustees for The Buckley School.

Additional officers elected tonight include:

Vice Chair:

Kevin Hamburger, outgoing Treasurer and Senior Supervising Producer of The Talk

Second Vice Chair:

Frank Scherma, current Governor Commercials Peer Group, current Creative Arts Awards Show Committee Vice Chair, President @radical.media


Marcelino Ford, incumbent Secretary, current Bylaws Committee Vice Chair, General Manager of Interactive Content and Advanced Advertising Development for Intel’s Media Group


Susan Nessanbaum-Goldberg, current Governor Production Executives, current Primetime Awards Committee Co-Chair


Los Angeles Area Vice Chair:

Joetta Di Bella, incumbent Los Angeles Area Vice Chair

Recently elected Governors announced tonight include:

Ruth Adelman – Sound Editors Peer Group

Allison Binder – Professional Representatives Peer Group

Daniel Birman – Nonfiction Programming Peer Group

Scott Boyd – Picture Editors Peer Group

Judy Crown – Makeup Artists / Hairstylists Peer Group

Kirk Ellis – Writers Peer Group

Ian Fraser – Music Peer Group

Lucia Gervino – Production Executives Peer Group

Stephen A. Jones – Electronic Production Peer Group

Ellen Kahn – Title Design Peer Group

Steven Kent – Producers Peer Group

David Kleeman – Children’s Programming Peer Group

Mark Kirkland – Animation Peer Group

Sharon Lieblein – Casting Directors Peer Group

Sheila Manning – Commercials Peer Group

Lee Miller – Directors Peer Group

Anthony Molinari – Stunts Peer Group

Frank Morrone – Sound Peer Group

Matthew J. Olsen – Daytime Programming Peer Group

Russ Patrick – Public Relations Peer Group

Betsey Potter – Costume Design & Supervision Peer Group

Lori Schwartz – Interactive Media Peer Group

Mark Scott Spatny – Special Visual Effects Peer Group

Rob Swartz – Television Executives Peer Group

Greg Taylor – Los Angeles Area Peer Group

James Yarnell – Art Directors / Set Decorators Peer Group

Kenneth Zunder – Cinematographers Peer Group

Please note there will be a run-off election for the Governor of the Performers Peer Group between Bob Bergen and Peter Kwong.

Please fill out this field.