‘Cartel Land’ Leads Cinema Eye Honors With 5 Nominations

Other nonfiction movies with multiple nominations are “Amy,” “Democrats,” “Listen to Me,” “The Look of Silence” and “The Wolfpack”

Cartel Land Documentary+
The Orchard

“Cartel Land,” Matthew Heineman’s film about violence and vigilantes on both sides of the US-Mexico border, received five nominations for this year’s Cinema Eye Honors for Nonfiction Filmmaking, Cinema Eye announced Wednesday.

“Cartel Land” will compete in the top category, Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking, with Asif Kapadia’s “Amy,” Camilla Neilsson’s “Democrats,” Stevan Riley’s “Listen to Me Marlon,” Crystal Moselle’s “The Wolfpack” and Joshua Oppenheimer‘s “The Look of Silence.”

The latter, which received four nominations, and “Cartel Land” were the only films nominated for Outstanding Feature, Direction, Production and Cinematography.

Other films with multiple nominations included “Meru,” “Heart of a Dog,” “Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief,” “Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck” and “Best of Enemies.”

The late Albert Maysles received two nominations, one for each of his final two films, “In Transit” and “Iris.”

“Amy,” “Listen to Me Marlon” and “The Look of Silence” have now been nominated for both of the top honors in non-fiction filmmaking, the Cinema Eye Honors and the International Documentary Association’s IDA Awards.

“Cartel Land,” “Listen to Me Marlon” and “Look of Silence” were also nominated in the documentary category at the Gotham Independent Film Awards.

With the voting deadline for the Oscars’ documentary-feature shortlist coming in less than 10 days, those films are among the handful of favorites emerging in the 124-film field. But unlike the last few years, when films like “Citizenfour” and “Searching for Sugar Man” were clear favorites going into Oscar voting, this year’s race is more wide-open.

The Oscar doc shortlist, which will consist of 15 films, will be announced in early December.

The Cinema Eye Honors were established in 2007 to honor all facets of nonfiction filmmaking. Nominations are made by programmers at film festivals from around the world, with special juries convened to decide in some categories.

Winners will be announced at the 9th Annual Honors Ceremony on Jan. 13, 2016 at the Museum of the Moving Image in New York City.

See all the nominations below.

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking
Directed by Asif Kapadia
Produced by James Gay-Rees
“Cartel Land”
Directed by Matthew Heineman
Produced by Tom Yellin
Directed by Camilla Nielsson
Produced by Henrik Veileborg
“Listen to Me Marlon”
Directed by Stevan Riley
Produced by John Battsek, George Chignell and R.J. Cutler
“The Look of Silence”
Directed by Joshua Oppenheimer
Produced by Signe Byrge Sorensen”The Wolfpack”
Directed by Crystal Moselle
Produced by Crystal Moselle and Izabella Tzenkova

Outstanding Achievement in Direction
Matthew Heineman, “Cartel Land”
Kim Longinotto, “Dreamcatcher”
Laurie Anderson, “Heart of a Dog”
Frederick Wiseman, “In Jackson Heights”
Albert Maysles, Lynn True, Nelson Walker, David Usui & Ben Wu, “In Transit”
Joshua Oppenheimer, “The Look of Silence”

Outstanding Achievement in Editing
Chris King, “Amy”
Aaron Wickenden and Eileen Meyer, “Best of Enemies”
James Scott, “How to Change the World”
Brett Morgen and Joe Neshenkovsky, “Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck”
Stevan Riley, “Listen to Me Marlon”

Outstanding Achievement in Production
Tom Yellin, “Cartel Land”
Henrik Veileborg, “Democrats”
Alex Gibney, Lawrence Wright and Kristen Vaurio, “Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief”
Signe Byrge Sorensen, “The Look of Silence”
Jimmy Chin, Chai Vasarhelyi and Shannon Etheridge, “Meru”

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography
Matthew Heineman and Matt Porwoll, “Cartel Land”
Lars Skree, “The Look of Silence”
Jimmy Chin and Renan Ozturk, “Meru”
Ewan McNicol, “Uncertain”
Bill Ross and Turner Ross, “Western”

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Films Made for Television
“Deep Web”
Directed by Alex Winter
Produced by Marc Schiller, Alex Winter and Glen Zipper
For EPIX: Executive Producers Jill Burkhart and Ross Bernard

“Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief”
Directed by Alex Gibney
Produced by Alex Gibney, Kristen Vaurio and Lawrence Wright
For HBO Documentary Films: Supervising Producer Sara Bernstein and Executive Producer Sheila Nevins

Directed by Dan Edge
Produced by Dan Edge and Sasha Joelle Achilli
For Frontline/PBS: Coordinating Producer Carla Borras and Executive Producers Raney Aronson-Rath and David Fanning

“Private Violence”
Directed and Produced by Cynthia Hill
For HBO Documentary Films: Senior Producer Nancy Abraham and Executive Producer Sheila Nevins

“Whitey: The United States of America vs. James J. Bulger”
Directed by Joe Berlinger
Produced by Joe Berlinger and Caroline Suh
For CNN Films: Supervising Producer Courtney Sexton and Executive Producers Vinnie Malhotra and Amy Entelis

Audience Choice Prize
Directed by Asif Kapadia

“Best of Enemies”
Directed by Morgan Neville and Robert Gordon

“Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief”
Directed by Alex Gibney

“The Hunting Ground”
Directed by Kirby Dick

Directed by Albert Maysles

“Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck”
Directed by Brett Morgen

Directed by Jimmy Chin and Chai Vasarhelyi

“What Happened, Miss Simone?”
Directed by Liz Garbus

“Where to Invade Next”
Directed by Michael Moore

“The Wolfpack”
Directed by Crystal Moselle

Outstanding Achievement in a Debut Feature Film

“Kings of Nowhere”
Directed by BetzabÈ Garcia

“Peace Officer”
Directed by Brad Barber and Scott Christopherson

“Pervert Park”
Directed by Frida Barkfors and Lasse Barkfors

“The Russian Woodpecker”
Directed by Chad Gracia

Directed by Ewan McNicol and Anna Sandilands

“The Wolfpack”
Directed by Crystal Moselle

Outstanding Achievement in Original Music Score
Jackson Greenberg and Scott Salinas, “Cartel Land”
Laurie Anderson, “Heart of a Dog”
J. Ralph, “Meru”
Jonathan Snipes, “The Nightmare”
Casey McAllister, “Western”

Outstanding Achievement in Graphic Design or Animation
Nominees TBD, “Drunk Stoned Brilliant Dead: The Story of the National Lampoon”
Laurie Anderson, “Heart of a Dog”
Stefan Nadelman and Hisko Hulsin, “Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck”
Syd Garon, “The Nightmare”
Ryan Green and Josh Larson, “Thank You for Playing”

Spotlight Award
“Almost There”
Directed by Dan Rybicky and Aaron Wickenden

Directed by Ben Powell

“Field Niggas”
Directed by Khalik Allah

“Frame by Frame”
Directed by Alexandria Bombach and Mo Scarpelli

Directed by Lyric R. Cabral and David Felix Sutcliffe

“Toto and His Sisters”
Directed by Alexandre Nanău

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Short Filmmaking
“The Breath”
Directed by Fabian Kaiser

“Buffalo Juggalos”
Directed by Scott Cummings

“Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah”
Directed by Adam Benzine

“The Face of Ukraine: Casting Oksana Baiul”
Directed by Kitty Green

“Hotel 22”
Directed by Elizabeth Lo