Cathy Schulman Named New President of Women in Film

Oscar-winning producer of “Crash” takes over from Jane Fleming

Last Updated: January 12, 2011 @ 6:55 PM

Cathy Schulman has been elected the new president of Woman in Film. 

The three-year term of the Oscar winning producer of “Crash” actually officially started on Jan. 1.

“We must continue to define our mandate so that the needs of women in entertainment are met,” said Schulman (pictured right, with Jack Nicholson and Paul Haggis) on Wednesday. “Equally, we need to ensure women act collectively to make positive change for both men and women working in this ever-changing landscape.”

The announcement came less than a month after current WIF President Jane Fleming told members that she was stepping down after four years to concentrate on her production company.

“I can think of no one better to take the reins of Women In Film as the organization grows in scope and impact to meet the challenges of the 21st century,” said Fleming of Schulman in a statement. “She is a proven leader, producer and visionary as well as a committed teacher, philanthropist and mentor.  Moreover, her production experience in film and television, both scripted and documentary, gives her a unique insight into the diverse needs of the women the organization serves.”

Fleming will continue to work with the non-profit organization in a President Emeritus– position.

WIF also announced some new board members, their returning board members and who will be on the 2011 Executive Board.

New Board of Directors 

Rowena Arguelles
Jane Buckingham
Sarah Finn
Madelyn Hammond
Deborah Liebling
Ghen Laraya Long
Dawn Miller
Vanessa Morrison Murchison
Katherine Pope
Elizabeth Raposo
Mary Yoel
Returning Board Members
Hillary Bibicoff
Ivy Kagan Bierman
Susanne Daniels
Diana Derycz-Kessler  
Vicki Dummer
Lisa Gewirtz
Iris Grossman
Bill Harris
Danica Krislovich
Lillah McCarthy
Hannah Minghella
Robert Nieto
Rena Ronson  
Cathy Schulman
Shelby Stone  
Mike Tschida  
The  2011 Executive Board
President – Cathy Schulman
Executive Chair – Hannah Minghella
President Emeritus– Jane Fleming
Chief Financial Officer – Bill Harris
Vice President, Technology – Robert Nieto
Vice President, Marketing – Dawn Miller
Vice President, Fundraising – Iris Grossman
Vice President, Talent Relations – Sarah Finn