Charles Burnett, Larry Karaszewski Among LAFF Jurors

They’ll judge narrative films; Sandra Tsing-Loh on shorts jury

The Los Angeles Film Festival, which kicks off Thursday night in downtown Los Angeles, has set the jurors for its narrative, documentary and shorts sections.

On the narrative jury are directors Charles Burnett ("Killer of Sheep") and Larry Karaszewski ("The People vs. Larry Flynt"), as well as LA Weekly film critic Ella Taylor.

The documentary jurors are director-actress Karen Moncrief ("Blue Car"), director Arthur Dong ("Hollywood Chinese") and film critic-journalist Robert Abele.

Judging the short films will be writer-performer Sandra Tsing-Loh, actor Andrew Garfield and director Tommy O’Haver ("Ella Enchanted").

“I’m so excited to have all these great talents join us at the festival this year,” said LAFF artistic director David Ansen in a statement. “We have a strong competition lineup with more international feature films and shorts than ever before, so we’re sure to have some lively cinematic discussions.”

Winners will be announced June 26 at the awards brunch at Chaya Downtown, with audience winners to be announced the following day.

The festival, centered at L.A. Live downtown, runs through June 27.

For more information, go to the festival website.