Chris Brown Tops Beyonce, Pharrell for Most Soul Train Award Nominations

The “Loyal” singer is nominated across seven categories, including Best R&B/Soul Male Artist

Last Updated: October 13, 2014 @ 8:41 PM

BET announced its nominees for the 2014 Soul Train Awards Monday, and singer Chris Brown led the pack with seven mentions. Hosted this year by Wendy Williams, the 2014 show will take place at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas on Nov. 7.

Falling just short of the entertainer were “Happy” singer Pharrell Williams and “Flawless” performer Beyonce, each of whom netted six nominations.

In addition to being nominated for Best R&B/Soul Male Artist, Brown’s collaboration with Lil’  Wayne and Tyga — “Loyal”  — is up for four different accolades including Best Collaboration, a category that sees him nominated twice.

Also read: Chris Brown’s Advice for Ray Rice: ‘I’ve Made My Mistakes Too, But It’s All About How You Push Forward’

It’s been a bumpy year for Brown, who was sentenced to 131 days in jail for violating the terms of his probation stemming from his brutal assault of then-girlfriend Rihanna on Grammy night in 2009. Shortly after being released from prison in June, he offered words of advice for another celebrity involved in a domestic abuse scandal, NFL star Ray Rice.

“I deal with situations and I’ve made my mistakes too, but it’s all about how you push forward and how you control yourself,” he told MTV News‘ Sway Calloway regarding the running back’s legal troubles.

Meanwhile, Beyonce is nominated in all of the major categories including Best R&B/Soul Female Artist, Album of the Year (for “Beyonce”) and Song of the Year (for “Drunk in Love” featuring her husband Jay Z).

Also read: Iggy Azalea, Katy Perry, Pharrell Williams, John Legend Lead 2014 American Music Awards Nominations

The Soul Train Awards is directed by Tony McCuin and produced by BET Event Productions and Sunseeker Media. Executive producers of the network telecast are as follows: Paxton Baker, Tami Arasli, Derek Lewis from Centric; Bart Phillips from Sunseeker and David Koff and Jerry Letter from Soul Train Holdings; Kevin Hunter and Wendy Williams from Wendy Williams Productions, Inc.

See the complete list of nominees below:

SOUL TRAIN AWARDS 2014 – Nominees & Categories

Best New Artist

August Alsina

Jhené Aiko

LiV Warfield

Mack Wilds

Nico & Vinz

Sevyn Streeter

Centric Certified Award



Leela James

Luke James

Robert Glasper


Best Gospel/Inspirational Song

Help – Erica Campbell feat. Lecrae

I Can Only Imagine – Tamela Mann

No Greater Love – Smokie Norful

Real Love – Inspired People feat. Charles Jenkins

Say Yes – Michelle Williams feat. Beyoncé & Kelly Rowland

We Are Victorious – Donnie McClurkin feat. Tye Tribbett

Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year

Fancy – Iggy Azalea feat. Charli XCX

Hold On (We’re Going Home) – Drake feat. Majid Jordan

Loyal – Chris Brown feat. Lil Wayne & Tyga

No Mediocre – T.I. feat. Iggy Azalea

Pills N Potions – Nicki Minaj

Studio – ScHoolboy Q feat. BJ the Chicago Kid

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist


Janelle Monaé

Jennifer Hudson

Jhené Aiko

Marsha Ambrosius


Best R&B/Soul Male Artist

Chris Brown

John Legend


Pharrell Williams


Trey Songz

Album of the Year

Beyoncé – Beyoncé

G I R L – Pharrell Williams

Love In The Future – John Legend

Nothing Was The Same – Drake

The Electric Lady – Janelle Monaé

Xscape – Michael Jackson

Song of the Year

All of Me – John Legend

Drunk In Love – Beyoncé feat. Jay Z

Happy – Pharrell Williams

Hold On (We’re Going Home) – Drake feat. Majid Jordan

Love Never Felt So Good – Michael Jackson feat. Justin Timberlake

Loyal – Chris Brown feat. Lil Wayne and Tyga

The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award

All Of Me – John Legend (Toby Gad, John Stephens, Dave Tozer)

Happy – Pharrell Williams (Pharrell Williams)

Pretty Hurts – Beyoncé (Joshua Coleman, Sia Fuller, Beyoncé Knowles)

Stay With Me – Sam Smith (Steve Fitzmaurice, James Napier, William Phillips, Sam Smith)

The Man -Aloe Blacc (Khalil Abdul-Rahman, Sam Barsh, Aloe Blacc, Elton John, Daniel Seeff, Bernie Taupin)

The Worst – Jhené Aiko (Jhené Aiko Chilombo, Mac Robinson, Brian Warfield)

Best Dance Performance

2 On – Tinashe feat. ScHoolboy Q

Electric Lady – Janelle Monáe

Good Kisser – Usher

Loyal – Chris Brown feat. Lil Wayne & Tyga

Talk Dirty – Jason Derulo feat. 2 Chainz

Turn Down for What – DJ Snake & Lil Jon

Best Collaboration

Chris Brown feat. Lil Wayne & Tyga – Loyal

Chris Brown feat. Usher & Rick Ross – New Flame

Janelle Monaé feat. Miguel – Primetime

Michael Jackson & Justin Timberlake – Love Never Felt So Good

Robert Glasper feat. Jill Scott – Calls

Toni Braxton & Babyface – Hurt You

Video of the Year

Drunk In Love – Beyoncé feat. Jay Z (Hype Williams)

Good Kisser – Usher (Christopher Sims)

Happy – Pharrell Williams (We are from L.A.)

New Flame – Chris Brown feat. Usher (Breezy & Mike Ho)

The Man – Aloe Blacc (Matty Barnes)

The Worst – Jhené Aiko (Danny Williams)

Best International Performance (

Davido – Aye

Machel Montano – Ministry Of Road (M.O.R.)

Nico & Vinz – Am I Wrong

Sam Smith – Stay With Me

Shaggy feat. Ne-Yo – You Girl

Ziggy Marley – I Don’t’ Want To Live On Mars

Best Traditional Jazz Performance (

Audra McDonald – What a Little Moonlight Can Do

Gregory Porter – Hey Laura

Kenny Garrett – Pushing the World Away

Monty Alexander – Concierto de Aranjuez

Wynton Marsalis – Flee As A Bird To The Mountain (Live)

Best Contemporary Jazz Performance (

LiV Warfield- Stay- Soul Lifted

Najee feat. Meli’sa Morgan – In The Mood To Take It Slow

Robert Glasper feat. Jill Scott – Calls

Snarky Puppy – Lingus (We Like It Here)

Terrace Martin feat. Robert Glasper – It’s Yours

Vandell Andrew – Let’s Ride

Best Independent R&B/Soul Performance

Joe feat. Kelly Rowland – Love & Sex Pt. 2

Kelly Price – It’s My Time

LiV Warfield – Why Do You Lie?

Sebastian Mikael feat. Wale – Last Night

Shaliek – The Past

Terrace Martin feat. TY$, Tone Trezure – You’re The One


Looks like you’re enjoying reading
Keep reading by creating
a free account or logging in.