Costume Designers Guild Gives Top Prizes to ‘The Favourite,’ ‘Black Panther’

In the previous 20 years, one of the CDG Awards winners has gone on to win the Oscar for Best Costume Design nine times

The Favourite costumes
Fox Searchlight

“The Favourite,” “Black Panther” and “Crazy Rich Asians” have been named the best-dressed films of 2018 by the Costume Designers Guild, which handed out its 21st Costume Designers Guild Awards on Tuesday night in Los Angeles.

“The Favourite” won in the Excellence in Period Film category, “Black Panther” in the Excellence in Sci-Fi/Fantasy Film category and “Crazy Rich Asians” in the Excellence in Contemporary Film category.

Of this year’s CDG winners, “The Favourite” and “Black Panther” are nominated for Oscars in the Best Costume Design category. “Crazy Rich Asians” is not.

In its previous 20 years, one of the CDG winners went on to win the costume-design Oscar nine times. Five of those winners came from the period-film category, two from the sci-fi/fantasy category and two from the now-defunct period/fantasy category.

In the four television categories, the winners were “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (period), “The Assassination of Gianni Versace” (contemporary), “Westworld” (sci-fi/fantasy) and “RuPaul’s Drag Race” (variety, reality-competition and live).

Childish Gambino’s music video “This Is America” won for short-form costume design.

Kate Walsh hosted the show, which took place at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. The Spotlight Award went to actress Glenn Close, the Career Achievement Award to costume designer Ruth E. Carter (who also won a competitive award for “Black Panther”), the Distinguished Collaborator Award to Ryan Murphy and the Distinguished Service Award to Betty Pecha Madden.

The Costume Designers Guild Awards winners:

Excellence in Contemporary Film: “Crazy Rich Asians” – Mary E. Vogt

Excellence in Period Film: “The Favourite” – Sandy Powell

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Film: “Black Panther” – Ruth E. Carter

Excellence in Contemporary Television: “The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story” – Lou Eyrich & Allison Leach

Excellence in Period Television: “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” – Donna Zakowska

Excellence in Sci-Fi/Fantasy Television: “Westworld” – Sharen Davis

Excellence in Variety, Reality-Competition, Live Television: “RuPaul’s Drag Race” – Zaldy Goco

Excellence in Short Form Design: Childish Gambino: “This is America,” music video – Natasha Newman-Thomas