Costume Designers Guild Puts ‘Hustlers,’ ‘Rocketman,’ ‘Dolemite’ on the Best-Dressed List

Other nominees include “Downton Abbey,” “Jojo Rabbit” and “Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood”

"Hustlers" / STX

The costume designers responsible for the eye-catching outfits worn by Jennifer Lopez in “Hustlers,” Taron Egerton in “Rocketman” and Eddie Murphy in “Dolemite Is My Name” have been nominated for the 22nd annual Costume Designers Guild Awards, the CDG announced on Tuesday.

The “Hustlers” costumes will be competing against “A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood,” “Knives Out,” “The Laundromat” and “Queen and Slim” in the CDG’s contemporary film category, while “Dolemite” and “Rocketman” will go up against “Downton Abbey,” “Jojo Rabbit” and “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood” in the period film category.

In the sci-fi/fantasy category, the nominees are “Aladdin,” “Avengers: Endgame,” “Captain Marvel,” “Maleficent: Mistress of Evil” and “Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker.”

Nominees include Ruth E. Carter, the reigning Oscar champ for “Black Panther,” who is up for “Dolemite,” and Ellen Mirojnick, a double film nominee for both “The Laundromat” and “Maleficent.”

In the television categories, nominees included “Fleabag,” “Schitt’s Creek,” “The Crown,” “GLOW,” “Game of Thrones,” “Watchmen” and “The Masked Singer.”

In recent years, the Costume Designers Guild has typically nominated three or four of the films that have gone on to receive Oscar nominations for Best Costume Design. Those nominees almost always come from the period and fantasy categories.

Last year, four of the five Oscar nominees were first nominated by the CDG, three from the period category and one, “Black Panther,” from the sci-fi/fantasy category.

The awards will be handed out on Jan. 28, 2020, at the Beverly Hilton Hotel, in a show hosted by Mindy Kaling. Also at that ceremony, honorary awards will go to Charlize Theron (Spotlight Award), Adam McKay (Distinguished Collaborator Award), Mary Ellen Fields (Distinguished Service Award) and Michael Kaplan (Career Achievement Award).

The nominees:

Excellence in Contemporary Film
“A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood” – Arjun Bhasin
“Hustlers” – Mitchell Travers
“Knives Out” – Jenny Eagan
“The Laundromat” – Ellen Mirojnick
“Queen & Slim” – Shiona Turini

Excellence in Period Film
“Dolemite is My Name” – Ruth E. Carter
“Downton Abbey” – Anna Mary Scott Robbins
“Jojo Rabbit” – Mayes C. Rubeo
“Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood” – Arianne Phillips
“Rocketman” – Julian Day

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Film
“Aladdin” – Michael Wilkinson
“Avengers: Endgame” – Judianna Makovsky
“Captain Marvel” – Sanja M. Hays
“Maleficent: Mistress of Evil” – Ellen Mirojnick
“Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker” – Michael Kaplan

Excellence in Contemporary Television
“Big Little Lies”: “She Knows” – Alix Friedberg
“Fleabag”: “2.1” – Ray Holman
“Killing Eve”: “Desperate Times” – Charlotte Mitchell
“Russian Doll”: “Superiority Complex” – Jennifer Rogien
“Schitt’s Creek”: “The Dress” – Debra Hanson

Excellence in Period Television
“Chernobyl”: “Please Remain Calm” – Odile Dicks-Mireaux
“The Crown”: “Cri De Coeur” – Amy Roberts
“Fosse/Verdon”: “Life is a Cabaret” – Melissa Toth & Joseph La Corte
“GLOW”: “Freaky Tuesday” – Beth Morgan
“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”: “It’s Comedy or Cabbage” – Donna Zakowska

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Television
“Carnival Row”: “Aisling” – Joanna Eatwell
“Game of Thrones”: “The Iron Throne” – Michele Clapton
“The Handmaid’s Tale”: “Household” – Natalie Bronfman
“A Series of Unfortunate Events”: “Penultimate Peril: Part 2” – Cynthia Summers
“Watchmen”: “It’s Summer and We’re Running Out of Ice” – Sharen Davis

Excellence in Variety, Reality-Competition, Live Television
“Dancing with the Stars”: “First Elimination” – Daniella Gschwendtner & Steven Norman Lee
“The Late Late Show with James Corden”: “Crosswalk the Musical: Aladdin” – Lauren Shapiro
“The Masked Singer”: “Season Finale: And the Winner Takes It All and Takes It Off” – Marina Toybina
“RuPaul’s Drag Race”: “Whatcha Unpackin?” – Zaldy for RuPaul
“Saturday Night Live”: “Sandra Oh / Tame Impala” – Tom Broecker & Eric Justian

Excellence in Short Form Design
Katy Perry: “Small Talk” music video – Phoenix Mellow
Kohler Verdera Voice Smart Mirror: “Mirror, Mirror” commercial – Ami Goodheart
Lil Nas X: “Old Town Road” music video – Catherine Hahn
Madonna: “God Control” music video – B. Akerlund
United Airlines: “Star Wars Wing Walker” commercial – Christopher Lawrence