DC Universe Cuts ‘Swamp Thing’ Episode Order

James Wan-produced show will have 10 episodes instead of the previously-announced 13

Swamp Thing logo
DC Entertainment

DC Universe is cutting the episode order for “Swamp Thing,” its next DC Comics-based series.

“Swamp Thing” will now have 10 episodes instead of the initial 13, an individual with knowledge of production told TheWrap, who said the reduction was made for creative reasons.  The DC Comics series will still debut on Friday, May 31.

Warner Bros. and DC Universe declined to comment.

In “Swamp Thing,” Crystal Reed stars as Abby Arcane, Derek Mears will portray Swamp Thing, while Andy Bean will play Alec Holland, its human alter ego. The rest of the cast includes Maria Sten, Jeryl Prescott, Henderson Wade, Kevin Durand, Will Patton, Virginia Madsen and Ian Ziering.

Per DC Universe, “Swamp Thing” follows Abby Arcane (Reed) as she investigates what seems to be a deadly swamp-born virus in a small town in Louisiana but soon discovers that the swamp holds mystical and terrifying secrets. When unexplainable and chilling horrors emerge from the murky marsh, no one is safe.

“Swamp Thing” is executive produced by James Wan, Mark Verheiden, Gary Dauberman, Michael Clear and Len Wiseman. “Swamp Thing” is based on DC characters created by Len Wein and Bernie Wrightson. Rob Hackett is co-producer. The series is produced by Atomic Monster in association with Warner Bros. Television. The pilot is written by Verheiden and Dauberman, and Wiseman is set to direct.

Umberto Gonzalez contributed to this report.