We've Got Hollywood Covered

‘Dollhouse’ Leads 2019 Slamdance Awards Winners

Nicole Brending’s feminist puppet show won the top jury prize

Awards were handed out Thursday at the 25th annual Slamdance Film Festival in Park City, Utah, with nine films earning honors in the jury, audience and sponsored categories.

The narrative jury prize was awarded to the feminist puppet animation film “Dollhouse: The Eradication of Female Subjectivity in American Popular Culture,” directed by Nicole Brending. Honorable mention was given to “Cat Sticks,” directed by Ronny Sen.

“Dollhouse wasn’t like any other film at the festival or any festival. It was outrageous, bold, hilarious,” read the jury statement from Frédéric Forestier, Shih-Ching Tsou and Jeremiah Zagar. “We’re also giving it the grand prize because we think it really embodies the spirit of the Slamdance. ‘Cat Sticks’ is unbelievably gorgeous and has some of the most incredible poetic moments of any movies we’ve ever seen. We hope it finds a vein in American culture!”

The documentary jury prize was awarded to David Hambridge’s “Kifaru,” which also won the audience documentary prize. Audience prizes were also awarded to Andrew Patterson’s “The Vast of Night” and Patrick Creadon’s “Ski Bum: The Warren Miller Story.”

“Slamdance has helped launch many filmmakers that have gone on to change the face of entertainment,” said Slamdance co-founder Peter Baxter.

“Our artist led community, including the support and mentorship of this year’s Founder’s Award recipient Steven Soderbergh and alumni Anthony and Joe Russo, continues to focus on the discovery and support of great new artists,” Baxter continued. “We congratulate the winners and everyone at Slamdance who represent the authentic voice of independent artists and our cultural future.”

Read the full winners list below:

Narrative Feature Grand Jury Prize – “Dollhouse: The Eradication of Female Subjectivity in American Popular Culture” (Dir.: Nicole Brending)

Honorable Mentions: “Cat Sticks” (Dir.: Ronny Sen)

Documentary Feature Grand Jury Prize – “Kifaru” (Dir.: David Hambridge)

Honorable Mention – “Markie in Milwaukee” (Dir.: Matt Kliegman)

Documentary Short Grand Jury Prize – “Tungrus” (Dir.: Rishi Chandna)

Honorable Mention: “Las Del Diente” (Dir.: Ana Perez Lopez)

Narrative Shorts Grand Jury Prize: “Woman In Stall” (Dir.: Madeleine Sims-Fewer and Dusty Mancinelli)

Honorable Mention: “East of the River” (Dir.: Hannah Peterson)

Jury Awards – Experimental Shorts/ Animated Shorts

Experimental Shorts Grand Jury Prize: “Wayward Emulsions” (Dir.: Tina Takemoto)

Honorable Mention: “Applied Pressure” (Dir.: Kelly Sears)

Animated Shorts Grand Jury Prize: “Shalva” (Tranquility) (Dir.: Danna Windsor)

Honorable Mention: “Bloeistraat 11” (Dir.: Nienke Deutz)

Slamdance Acting Award:

Siyabonga Majola (“We Are Thankful”)

Slamdance Acting Award Honorable Mention:

Aya Kitai (“Demolition Girl”)

Lauren McCune (“Ready for Love”)

George Starks Spirit of Slamdance Award Winner:

Nicole Brending (director Of “Dollhouse: The Eradication of Female Subjectivity in American Popular Culture”)

CreativeFuture Innovation Award:

“Bloeistraat 11” (Dir.: Nienke Deutz)

The Russo Brothers Fellowship Award Winner:

Hannah Peterson, director of “East of the River”

Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature: “The Vast of Night” (Dir.: Andrew Patterson)

Audience Award for Documentary Feature: “Kifaru” (Dir.: David Hambridge)

Audience Award for Beyond Feature: “Ski Bum: The Warren Miller Story” (Dir.: Patrick Creadon)