Dorian Awards: Gay and Lesbian Critics Announce TV and Film Nominations

“12 Years a Slave,” “American Hustle,” “American Horror Story: Coven” and “House of Cards” among GALECA’s annual picks


The Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association announced its annual television and film nominations for its Dorian Awards on Tuesday.

In all, the nominees in 21 categories represent GALECA’s choices for the finest in 2013’s film and television accessible in the U.S., across a variety of categories, from general to LGBT-centric.

Among the films GALECA nominated for Film of the Year are “12 Years a Slave,” “Her,” “Blue Is the Warmest Color,” “Laurence Anyways,” “Gravity,” “Dallas Buyers Club” and “American Hustle.”

See photos: 41 Snapshots From Inside the Golden Globes After-Parties 2014

“House of Cards,” “American Horror Story: Coven,” “Behind the Candelabra,” “Breaking Bad,” “Mad Men” and Orange Is the New Black” rank among the groups best TV dramas.

Winners will be announced on Tuesday, Jan. 21. And GALECA’s annual toast will be held Sunday, March 9 in Hollywood.

Comprised of more than 80 professional American and foreign entertainment journalists, GALECA’s Dorian Awards are named in honor of Oscar Wilde and his novel, “The Picture of Dorian Gray.”

See photos: 11 Transgender Stars Weigh In on Trans Images in Entertainment

See the full list of 2013 nominees below:

Film of the Year
American Hustle (Sony)
Blue is the Warmest Color (Sundance Selects)
Dallas Buyers Club (Focus)
Gravity (WB)
Her (WB)
Laurence Anyways (Breaking Glass)
12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight)

Film Performance of the Year – Actor
Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street (Paramount)
Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight)
James Franco, Spring Breakers (A24)
Jared Leto, Dallas Buyer Club (Focus)
Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club (Focus)

Film Performance of the Year – Actress
Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine (Sony Classics)
Sandra Bullock, Gravity (WB)
Judi Dench, Philomena (Weinstein)
Adele Exarchopoulos, Blue is the Warmest Color (Sundance Selects)
Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight)

Also read: Inside the Golden Globes: 17 Things You Didn’t See on TV

LGBT Film of the Year
Blue is the Warmest Color (Sundance Selects)
Dallas Buyers Club (Focus)
Kill Your Darlings (Sony Classics)
Laurence Anyways (Breaking Glass)
Philomena (Weinstein)

Foreign Language Film of the Year
Blue is the Warmest Color (IFC)
The Great Beauty (Janus)
The Hunt (Magnolia)
I’m So Excited! (Sony Classics)
Laurence Anyways (Breaking Glass)
Out in the Dark (Breaking Glass)

Documentary of the Year
(theatrical release, TV airing or DVD release)
The Act of Killing (Drafthouse)
Blackfish (Magnolia, CNN)
Bridegroom (Own, Virgil Films)
I Am Divine (Automat, Wolfe)
20 Feet from Stardom (Radius-TWC)

Also read: MTV’s New Scripted Comedy ‘Faking It’ Turns Tables on What It’s Like to Be Gay in High School

Campy Flick of the Year
August: Osage County (Weinstein)
The Canyons (Sundance Selects)
Carrie (Screen Gems)
The Great Gatsby (WB)
I’m So Excited! (Sony Classics)

Unsung Film of the Year
Frances Ha (Sundance Selects)
In A World . . . (Roadside Attractions)
Kill Your Darlings (Sony Classics)
Short Term 12 (Cinedigm)
The Spectacular Now (A24)

Visually Striking Film of the Year
(honoring a production of stunning beauty, from art direction to cinematography)
Frozen (Disney)
Gravity (WB)
Inside Llewyn Davis (CBS Films)
Laurence Anyways (Breaking Glass)
The Great Gatsby (WB)

Also read: Forest Whitaker, ‘Before Midnight’ Team To Receive Special Critics’ Choice Movie Awards

TV Drama of the Year
American Horror Story: Coven (FX)
Behind the Candelabra (HBO)
Breaking Bad (AMC)
Mad Men (AMC)
Orange is the New Black (Netflix)

TV Comedy of the Year
The Big Bang Theory (CBS)
Getting On (HBO)
Girls (HBO)
Ja’mie: Private School Girl (HBO)
Modern Family (ABC)
Veep (HBO)

TV Performance of the Year – Actor
Bryan Cranston, Breaking Bad (AMC)
Michael Douglas, Behind the Candelabra (HBO)
Jon Hamm, Mad Men (AMC)
Jim Parsons, The Big Bang Theory (CBS)
Kevin Spacey, House of Cards (Netflix)

See video: Lee Daniels on Growing Up Gay in the Ghetto – ‘There Was Never a Closet’

TV Performance of the Year – Actress
Vera Farmiga, Bates Motel (FX)
Jessica Lange, American Horror Story: Coven (FX)
Tatiana Maslany, Orphan Black (BBC America)
Taylor Schilling, Orange is the New Black (Netflix)
Kerry Washington, Scandal (ABC)
Robin Wright, House of Cards (Netflix)

TV Musical Performance of the Year
Shirley Bassey, “Goldfinger,” 82nd Academy Awards (CBS)
Neil Patrick Harris, “Bigger,” 67th Annual Tony Awards (CBS)
Jane Krakowski, “Theme from Rural Juror,” 30 Rock (NBC)
Jessica Lange and cast, “The Name Game,” American Horror Story: Asylum (FX
Lea Michele, “To Make You Feel My Love,” Glee (FX)

LGBT TV Show of the Year
Behind the Candelabra (HBO)
Bridegroom (Own)
Modern Family (ABC)
Orange is the New Black (Netflix)
RuPaul’s Drag Race (Logo)

Also read: NAACP Awards Nominees Include Kerry Washington, Andre Braugher and Kevin Hart

Campy TV Show of the Year
American Horror Story: Coven (FX)
Behind the Candelabra (HBO)
House of Versace (Lifetime)
Sharknado (Syfy)
Smash (NBC)

Unsung TV Show of the Year
Broadchurch (BBC America)
The Carrie Diaries (CW)
Cougar Town (TBS)
Getting On (HBO)
Mom (CBS)
Orphan Black (BBC America)

The We’re Wilde About You (Rising Star Award)
Adele Exarchopoulos
Dane DeHaan
Laverne Cox
Lupita Nyong’o
Tatiana Maslany

Also read: Why Robin Roberts Coming Out as Gay Isn’t News — But Is Still Significant (Analysis)

Wilde Wit of the Year
(honoring a performer, writer or commentator whose observations both challenge and amuse)
Rachel Maddow
Bill Maher
Kate McKinnon
Dan Savage
Amy Schumer

Wilde Artist of the Year
(honoring a truly groundbreaking force in the fields of film, theater and/or television)
Alfonso Cuaron
Xavier Dolan
James Franco
Spike Jonze
Steve McQueen

Timeless Award
(to an actor or performer whose exemplary career is marked by character, wisdom and wit)
Lily Tomlin

Full disclosure: This journalist is a voting member of GALECA.