We've Got Hollywood Covered

Dwayne Johnson to Receive Generation Award at MTV Movie & TV Awards

The Rock previously hosted the ceremony with Kevin Hart in 2016

Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson will be honored with the “Generation” Award at the 2019 MTV Movie & TV Awards, MTV announced Thursday.

Johnson is making his return to the ceremony after hosting it alongside Kevin Hart back in 2016. This year, “Shazam!” star Zachary Levi will host the show that airs on Monday, June 17 at 9 p.m. ET/PT.

“Johnson is an icon on both film and TV who has become one of the most beloved actors of our generation,” Amy Doyle, general manager, MTV, VH1, CMT and Logo, said in a statement. “Throughout his career, Johnson has proven to be the ultimate badass – an action star with a flair for comedy, one of the greatest professional wrestlers of all time and a true family man. He continues to captivate his audience worldwide and we are thrilled to celebrate him with the Generation Award.”

The Generation Award celebrates actors whose diverse contributions to both film and television have turned them into household names in the industry. Past winners include Chris Pratt, Will Smith, Reese Witherspoon, Robert Downey Jr., Mark Wahlberg, Sandra Bullock, Jamie Foxx, Johnny Depp, Ben Stiller, Adam Sandler, Mike Myers, Tom Cruise, Jim Carrey and the “Fast & Furious” franchise.

Among some of the other honorees, MTV announced earlier in the week that Jada Pinkett Smith would be the recipient of the Trailblazer Award. And Lizzo and Bazzi are also expected to perform during the broadcast.

Johnson in 2019 created the NBC competition series “The Titan Games.” He’ll next be seen in the “Fast and Furious” spinoff movie “Hobbs & Shaw” alongside Jason Statham and Idris Elba. Then at the end of the year he’ll star in the sequel to “Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle,” as well as Disney’s “Jungle Cruise” in 2020.

Joel Gallen of Tenth Planet Productions will serve as executive producer with MTV’s Amy Doyle, Wendy Plaut and Vanessa Whitewolf for the ceremony. Rick Austin will also serve as executive producer. Jackie Barba, Joseph Buoye and Alicia Portugal are executives in charge of production. Amani Duncan and Lisa Lauricella are executives in charge of music.