We've Got Hollywood Covered

‘Dancing With the Stars: Athletes’ Crowns Its First Champion

Adam Rippon, Tonya Harding and Josh Norman were the last sports stars standing going into Monday’s finale

(Spoiler alert: Please do not read on if you haven’t watched Monday’s finale of “Dancing With the Stars: Athletes”)

The inaugural season of “Dancing With the Stars: Athletes” named its first winner on Monday night following a nail-biting finale.

The final three sports stars left standing on the shortened series were Adam Rippon, Tonya Harding and Josh Norman — with American figure skater Rippon taking the coveted Mirrorball.

The 28-year-old Olympian can now add that to the bronze medal he won at the Pyeongchang Winter Games in January.

The full cast of the sports-themed reality show, which was hosted by Tom Bergeron and Erin Andrews, included Johnny Damon, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Jennie Finch, Jamie Anderson, Luger Chris Mazdzer, Mirai Nagasu and Arike Ogunbowale.

Dancing With the Stars Athletes Winners 2018 Adam Rippon, dancer Jenna Johnson, host Cameron Mathison


Rippon was partnered with pro dancer Jenna Johnson, who earned her first win after two seasons on the ABC competition show.

Stars from the sports world who have previously taken home the Mirrorball on the regular “DWTS” include gymnast Shawn Johnson, NFL players Emmitt Smith, Donald Driver and Hines Ward, speed skater Apolo Anton Ohno and race car driver Hélio Castroneves.

“Dancing With the Stars” is produced by BBC Worldwide Productions. Ashley Edens-Shaffer and Joe Sungkur are executive producers.

“DWTS” will return this fall on Mondays, with “Dancing With the Stars: Juniors” set to air on Sundays on ABC.