We've Got Hollywood Covered

Elle Fanning, Yorgos Lanthimos, Pawel Pawlikowski Get Jury Duty at Cannes

Alice Rohrwacher, Robin Campillo and Kelly Reichardt are among the other jurors who will join president Alejandro G. Inarritu


Actress Elle Fanning and directors Kelly Reichardt (“Meek’s Cutoff”), Pawel Pawlikowski (“Cold War”), Yorgos Lanthimos (“The Favourite”) and Alice Rohrwacher (“Happy as Lazzaro”) will be joining jury president Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu on the main competition jury at the 2019 Cannes Film Festival, Cannes organizers announced on Monday.

The jury is long on writer/directors, with six of the nine jurors falling into that category: Inarritu, Reichardt, Rohrwacher, Lanthimos, Pawlikowski and Robin Campillo (“BPM”). Fanning and Maimouna N’Diaye are the only actors on the panel, though N’Diaye, from Burkina Faso, is also a director.

The final juror is French director and graphic novelist Enki Bilal.

The jury will consider the 19 films currently in the main competition, as well as any others that may be added before the May 14 start of the festival. They will vote for awards in a number of categories, most notably the Palme d’Or.

The winners will be announced at the Cannes awards ceremony on Saturday, May 25.

The complete list of jurors:

Alejandro Gonzalez Iñárritu
Director, producer & screenwriter / Mexico

Elle Fanning
Actress / USA

Maimouna N’Diaye
Actress & director / Burkina Faso

Kelly Reichardt
Director, screenwriter & editor / USA

Alice Rohrwacher
Director & screenwriter / Italy

Enki Bilal
Author of graphic novels & director / France

Robin Campillo
Director, screenwriter & editor / France

Yorgos Lanthimos
Director, screenwriter & producer / Greece

Paweł Pawlikowski
Director & Screenwriter / Poland