Film Independent Elects New Officers to Board of Directors

Bill Condon named president; Rodrigo Garcia, Alan Poul and Stephanie Allain also elected

Bill Condon, Rodrigo Garcia, Alan Poul and Stephanie Allain have been elected officers of the board of directors of Film Independent, the nonprofit organization that produces the Spirit Awards and the Los Angeles Film Festival.

The board is made up of leaders from the film community, who serve in a volunteer capacity and make strategic decisions on the direction and vitality of the organization.

Director-producer Condon ("Kinsey," "Gods and Monsters") was elected president. Writer-director Garcia ("In Treatment") is vice president. Director-producer Poul ("Six Feet Under," "Rome") serves as secretary and producer Allain ("Black Snake Moan") will be treasurer.

"Getting independent movies made and seen is always a struggle, and we’ve entered a particularly difficult period," Condon said in a statement. "I look forward to working with Rodrigo, Alan, Stephanie and our extraordinary board to help Film Independent fulfil its mission of promoting the cause of independent filmmaking in this country."

Joining the board of directors are Joe Drake, DeVon Franklin, Sue Kroll, David Linde and Ted Mundorff.

"We are so honoured to have such talented and visionary people on our Board of Directors, who are passionate about independent films and Film Independent," the organization’s executive director Dawn Hudson said in a statement.

Previous officers, who remain on the board, are actor-director-producer Vondie Curtis Hall, Troika Pictures co-CEO Michael Helfant, One Way Out Media’s Tom Ortenberg and writer-director Kasi Lemmons.

Other members of the board are Randy Barbato, Adriene Bowles, Effie T. Brown, Laura Dern, Sid Ganis, Marcus Hu, Laura Kim, Allan Mayer, Gail Mutrux, Peter Schlessel, Jonathan Sehring, Mary Sweeney and Forest Whitaker.