‘Forrest Gump,’ ‘Airplane’ Among 25 Movies Added to National Film Registry

“Bambi,” “The Lost Weekend” and Charlie Chaplin’s “The Kid” are also among the 2011 picks

Last Updated: December 28, 2011 @ 9:41 AM

Oscar Best Picture winners "Forrest Gump" and "Silence of the Lambs," as well as Disney classic "Bambi," are among the 25 films added to the Library of Congress National Film Registry for 2011.

The additions were selected by Librarian of Congress James H. Billington, and include movies made as early as 1912 and as recent as 1994. This year's entries bring the total number of movies in the Registry to 575.

Also read: 'Airplane,' 'Empire Strikes Back,' Among 25 Films Named to National Historic Registry

The complete list of 2011 additions:

"Allures" (1961)

"Bambi" (1942)

"The Big Heat" (1953)

"A Computer Animated Hand" (1972)

"Crisis: Behind A Presidential Commitment" (1963)

"The Cry of the Children" (1912)

"A Cure for Pokeritis" (1912)

"El Mariachi" (1992)

"Faces" (1968)

"Fake Fruit Factory" (1986)

"Forrest Gump" (1994)

"Growing Up Female" (1971)

"Hester Street" (1975)

"I, an Actress" (1977)

"The Iron Horse" (1924)

"The Kid" (1921)

"The Lost Weekend" (1945)

"The Negro Soldier" (1944)

"Nicholas Brothers Family Home Movies" (1930s-40s)

"Norma Rae" (1979)

"Porgy and Bess" (1959)

"The Silence of the Lambs" (1991)

"Stand and Deliver" (1988)

"Twentieth Century" (1934)

"War of the Worlds" (1953)

The essential source
for entertainment insiders

Sign up for your