Fox Fall Premieres: Emmys Open Season, ‘Scream Queens’ Lands 2-Hour Event

“Empire,” “Gotham” and “Last Man on Earth” also see September returns


Fox released its fall debut dates on Thursday, revealing a lineup that includes a two-hour “Scream Queens” premiere event on Sep. 22.

The prior evening, “Gotham” and “Minority Report” make their debuts. The Batman prequel will explore the origin stories the Riddler, the Joker and Mr. Freeze on Mondays during its sophomore season.

The Tuesday “Scream Queens” (pictured above) event will be followed by the premieres of respective John Stamos and Rob Lowe sitcoms “Grandfathered” and “The Grinder.”

On Wednesday, Sep. 23, smash Fox hit “Empire” returns, following the debut of Miami medical procedural “Rosewood.”

“Empire” will pick up three months after the shocking arrest and incarceration of Empire Entertainment head Lucious Lyon (Terrence Howard). Knowing Lucious won’t be held much longer in prison, Cookie (Taraji P. Henson) and her allies within the Lyon family make a desperate attempt to seize control of the company. As the Lyons continue to battle each other, a bigger external threat emerges that could force them to unite.

A few nights later, on Sunday, “Bob’s Burgers,” “The Simpsons,” “Brooklyn Nine-Nine,” “Family Guy” and “The Last Man on Earth” all return.

The following Thursday, Oct. 1, “Bones” and “Sleepy Hollow” will have their own season premieres.

New seasons of “MasterChef Junior” and “World’s Funniest” kick off on Friday, Nov. 6.

Here is the full premiere date schedule, complete with times:

Sunday, Sept. 20
8:00-11:00 PM LIVE ET/        67TH PRIMETIME EMMY(r) AWARDS
5:00-8:00 PM LIVE PT

Monday, Sept. 21
8:00-9:00 PM                          GOTHAM (Season Premiere)
9:00-10:00 PM                        MINORITY REPORT (Series Premiere)

Tuesday, Sept. 22
8:00-10:00 PM                        SCREAM QUEENS (Two-Hour Series Premiere)

Wednesday, Sept. 23
8:00-9:00 PM                          ROSEWOOD (Series Premiere)
9:00-10:00 PM                        EMPIRE (Season Premiere)

Sunday, Sept. 27
7:30-8:00 PM                          BOB’S BURGERS (Season Premiere)
8:00-8:30 PM                          THE SIMPSONS (Season Premiere)
8:30-9:00 PM                          BROOKLYN NINE-NINE (Season Premiere)
9:00-9:30 PM                          FAMILY GUY (Season Premiere)
9:30-10:00 PM                        THE LAST MAN ON EARTH (Season Premiere)

Tuesday, Sept. 29
8:00-8:30 PM                          GRANDFATHERED (Series Premiere)
8:30-9:00 PM                          THE GRINDER (Series Premiere)
9:00-10:00 PM                        SCREAM QUEENS (Time Period Premiere)

Thursday, Oct. 1
8:00-9:00 PM                          BONES (Season Premiere)
9:00-10:00 PM                        SLEEPY HOLLOW (Season Premiere)

Friday, Nov. 6
8:00-9:00 PM                          MASTERCHEF JUNIOR (Season Premiere)
9:00-10:00 PM                        WORLD’S FUNNIEST (Season Premiere)